Foliage Follow-Up – November 2013

Fewer leaves this months, but other than that, not much has changed here at the homestead! Red is still the most dominant color – I really should try to vary myself a little more, don’t you agree?

Less of a baby tree for each passing year, my 'Bloodgood' maple never disappoints as its leaves contrast against the Taxus in the background.

Less of a baby tree for each passing year, my ‘Bloodgood’ maple never disappoints as its leaves contrast against the Taxus in the background.

I guess you could call this one the ' changing of the reds'.  The last golden leaves of the variegated dogwood  'Elegantissima' drop, and the maple is done for the year, the bright red stems will carry my spirits through the dark months, as they sparkle against the nearby evergreens.

I guess you could call this one the ‘ changing of the reds’. When the last golden leaves of the variegated dogwood ‘Elegantissima’ drop, and the maple is done for the year, its bright red stems will carry my spirits through the dark months, as they sparkle against the nearby evergreens.

This was the first year I have gotten fruit on my Rubus lineatus. They are still hanging on, like little jewels among the fading foliage.

This was the first year I have gotten fruit on my Rubus lineatus. They are still hanging on, like little jewels among the fading foliage.

The yellow fall foliage of  my Cotinus coggygria 'Golden Spirit' make a great substitute for absent sun rays.

The yellow fall foliage of my Cotinus coggygria ‘Golden Spirit’ make a great substitute for absent sun rays.

This one takes the prize for most unexpected this month. The bronze berries of a  recently purchased Polygonatum verticillatum turned bright red after the first hard frost we had. So cool - I had no idea that would happen!

This one takes the prize for most unexpected this month. The bronze berries of a recently purchased Polygonatum verticillatum turned bright red after the first hard frost we had. So cool – I had no idea that would happen!

The giant evergreen magnolia constantly drops leaves - in fall as in every other season. It would be a neat-freak's worst nightmare, but luckily I have a rather high tolerance for messy. Somehow they look so lovely against that wet moss in fall that I can't help but forgive.

The giant evergreen magnolia constantly drops leaves – in fall as in every other season. It would be a neat-freak’s worst nightmare, but luckily I have a rather high tolerance for messy. Somehow they look so lovely against that wet moss in fall that I can’t help but forgive.

Finally - a young, developing Echium wildpretii which was a gift from a gardener friend this past summer. Thank you for that Patricia - it is such a cool plant! I'm watching this one with a lot of eager anticipation! :)

Finally – a young, developing Echium wildpretii which was a gift from a gardener friend this past summer. Thank you for that Patricia – it is such a cool plant! I’m watching this one with a lot of eager anticipation! 🙂

As always, skip over to our gracious host Pam at Digging to see more interesting foliage from around the world!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Foliage Follow Up and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Foliage Follow-Up – November 2013

  1. Pam/Digging says:

    Marvelous fall color! My favorite of all these, however, may be the corrugated-looking texture of the Rubus lineatus. So cool! Thanks for joining in with your foliage pics.

Leave a Reply

