Bloom Day and Foliage Follow-up, April 2014 – a week late…

Well, it doesn’t seem I’m doing very well keeping up with the regular scheduling, but here it is – better late than never. Armed with my camera, and accompanied by my furry friend Manneman, we braved the rain and headed out in the fading daylight after dinner this evening. The photos aren’t great, but they do tell the story of rain, dusk, and an intensely loving cat who likes to rub up against both plants and me – causing one or the other to shake. I suppose I could try again tomorrow night, but really – then this post would probably never happen. Apologies ahead of time for sub-par photos.

I really tried to photograph the Grevillea 'Scarlet Sprite' which is still sitting in its pot, unplanted, but my furry companion was doing his best to block my view.

I really tried to photograph the Grevillea ‘Scarlet Sprite’ which is still sitting in its pot unplanted, but my furry companion was doing his best to block my view.

This is as good as it got. Hopefully you get the idea. I think I will plant it in front of my Mystery Rose - a tall. re-blooming monster of a rose that came with the house. Heavenly fragrance all summer long, it reaches up past the eaves, but the bottom half is terribly scraggly. If it is to remain, it needs something to block its lesser half. Color-wise, it is perfect!

This is as good as it got. Hopefully you get the idea. I think I will plant it in front of my Mystery Rose – a tall. re-blooming monster of a rose that came with the house. Heavenly fragrance all summer long, it reaches up past the eaves, but the bottom half is terribly scraggly. If it is to remain, it needs something to block its lesser half. Color-wise, it is perfect!

No doubt feeling a tad bit guilty...

No doubt feeling a tad bit guilty… Or perhaps ignored.

A shot down to my secret little hang-out behind the garage.

A shot down to my secret little hang-out behind the garage. Sneak past the Choysia, and you’re in!

Dicentra 'Valentine', a Trillium grandiflorum, and tulips in the background.

Dicentra ‘Valentine’, a Trillium grandiflorum, and tulips in the background.

The same tulips against the branches of the Edgeworthia. The dark foliage of Bugbane 'Hillside Black Beauty' in the foreground.

The same tulips against the branches of the Edgeworthia. The dark foliage of Bugbane ‘Hillside Black Beauty’ in the foreground.

My little Enkianthus. It hasn't grown much since being moved to its new location last year, but it is blooming its heart out.

My little Enkianthus. It hasn’t grown much since being moved to its new location last year, but it is blooming its heart out.

Early Sensation - one of my favorite Clematis, blooming behind the garage.

Early Sensation – one of my favorite Clematis, blooming behind the garage.

The Libertia grandiflora I bought at Plant Nerd Night is still in its nursery band, but defiantly blooming. What a great plant! I need to make sure I site it against a far better background than that ugly siding.

The Libertia grandiflora I bought at Plant Nerd Night is still in its nursery band, but defiantly blooming. What a great plant! I need to make sure I site it against a far better background than that ugly siding.

Another great souvenir from Plant Nerd Night with lovely, strappy, silvery foliage. Those yellow balls kill me - they are so cool!

Another great souvenir from Plant Nerd Night with lovely, strappy, silvery foliage. Those yellow balls kill me – they are so cool!

Clematis 'Blue Dancer' at the tail end of its spring bloom. Usually it offers up a second flush of blooms later in summer as well.

Clematis ‘Blue Dancer’ at the tail end of its spring bloom. Usually it offers up a second flush of blooms later in summer as well.

A little better focus...

A little better focus, but not much.

You know why they call them 'Tassel ferns', right? They are so amazing!

You know why they call them ‘Tassel ferns’, right? They are so amazing!

Out of focus Hare's Tongue fern unfurling. So graceful...

Out of focus Hare’s Tongue fern unfurling. Still, so graceful…

Moving up to the front yard. It brings to mind someone wearing a bra a couple of sizes too small. Can you say 'voluptuous'? It almost makes me expect a strap somewhere to break. Many of these were planted one of our first years in this house. I think new Oregonians pretty much always underestimate the rate at which things grow here. I know for sure I did...

Moving up to the front yard. It brings to mind someone wearing a bra a couple of sizes too small. Can you say ‘voluptuous’? It almost makes me expect a strap somewhere to break. Many of these were planted one of our first years in this house. I think new Oregonians pretty much always underestimate the rate at which things grow here. I know for sure I did…

I swear - I have no idea who planted those tulips there. I suppose I must have done it, but I don't have any recollection of having done it. Nice surprise to see them, though...

I swear – I have no idea who planted those tulips there. I suppose I must have done it, but I don’t have any recollection of having done it. Nice surprise to see them, though…

I like how this variegated grass weaves through the red leaves of the Red Dragon maple.

I like how this variegated grass weaves through the red leaves of the Red Dragon maple.

I also like how our native Fringe cup has volunteered itself to mingle with the Iris. I don't have the heart to show it the door.

I also like how our native Fringe cup has volunteered itself to mingle with the Iris. I don’t have the heart to show it the door.

An almost spent Tulipa viridiflora against the formerly pink, now faded to green double Hellebore.

An almost spent Tulipa viridiflora against the formerly pink, now faded to green double Hellebore.

New growth on the variegated Fatsia japonica.

New, shiny growth on the variegated Fatsia japonica.

Our native Meadow rue doing its thing. Love it!

Our native Meadow rue doing its thing. Love it!

Some of the homeless plants, patiently waiting for homes.

Some of the many homeless plants, patiently waiting for homes.

I'm reclaiming my parking strip. There used to be a basket ball hoop there, but it is gone. Hooray!

I’m reclaiming my parking strip. There used to be a basket ball hoop there, but it is gone. Hooray!

The fiery red new growth of last month's Pieris, has now turned a bright, light green.

The fiery red new growth of last month’s Pieris, has now turned a bright, light green.

I love the new growth of Iris Gerald Darby - stunning!

I love the new growth of Iris Gerald Darby – stunning!

Raindrops on the Euphorbia wulfenii, which is looking mighty blue in the evening light.

Raindrops on the Euphorbia wulfenii, which is looking mighty blue in the evening light.

Ending on a positive note! My Polygonatum verticillatum which I thought had disappeared, is back! Such a cool plant! :)

Ending on a positive note! My Polygonatum verticillatum which I thought had disappeared, is back! So excited to see it! 🙂

Head over to Carol and May Dreams Gardens, and Pam at Digging to see what other harbingers of spring are sprouting in gardens across the nation and the world this month.

 

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Bloom Day, Foliage Follow Up and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bloom Day and Foliage Follow-up, April 2014 – a week late…

  1. Alison says:

    Happy belated GBBD and FF! I’m often joined on my rounds out in the garden by neighborhood cats who come to say hello. Your tulips might have been planted by a squirrel. My MIL in England once ended up with a single black tulip, originally planted by her neighbor and then dug and replanted by a squirrel, right in the middle of MIL’s very carefully planted and planned border full of Begonias.

  2. Wow, such a lush and blooming garden! Sooo lovely. I think your front garden looks full and wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Tamara! Well, it’s definitely full! Full enough that the ongoing projects behind my screen remain undetected. (Which is good, because they’ve been unfinished for a long time.) It fools almost everyone! 😉

  3. Ricki Grady says:

    Not only newcomers…we all fall into that underestimating trap. I think your voluptuous look is marvelous, as is your description of it. I think I will follow your lead: forget about keeping up with the name changes and just call it ‘Bugbane’. I just planted one (hope it will be as happy as yours).

  4. Pam/Digging says:

    I love your well-endowed garden and envy you your rain. Thanks for joining in for Foliage Follow-Up, and congrats on the new blog!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Pam! I figured what I write is so often about plants or gardens that I might as well give it its own space. I’m pretty sure there will be quite a bit of crossovers… 🙂

Leave a Reply

