Ground Control to Fledgling: Prepare for Lift-off! – what to do if your garden is used for an emergency landing.

Well people, it is fledgling time again, so I thought I’d reblog my post from last year to give everyone a heads-up. How do I know, you ask? Well, this morning, in my early morning barefoot stumble on the cool soil, I stepped on one. Granted, it was already dissected, presumably by my cat, but trust me – that delicate crunch will stay with me for a while. Yish! In other words, it is time to keep your eyes open for these little temporary ground dwellers when you’re out in your garden. Also, if you, like me, have a cat that likes to spend time outdoors, be sure to keep its claws trimmed (as in blunt) and preferably make it stay inside at night to give the fledglings a better chance of survival. As long as they are on the ground, these little guys are easy targets – even for a cat with modified weaponry.

The Creative Flux

Fledgling bird perched on someone's hand. Photo courtesy of www.thenaturegeek.blogspot.com Fledgling bird perched on someone’s hand. Photo courtesy of http://www.thenaturegeek.blogspot.com

Earlier this week as I walked outside to go run some errands, I caught sight of Manneman – my furry garden companion – batting a fuzzy, round little thing back and forth. He seemed to thoroughly be enjoying himself, which is almost always a bad sign. I took a closer look. To my dismay, I saw that the new toy was a tiny, fledgling bird. I scooped it up, and got it out of reach of my incorrigible feline. The poor bird looked as if it was expecting to die, and it probably would have, had I been a few minutes later. But, upon closer examination, it didn’t seem injured, and I found no blood. Encouraged, I made it a temporary nest out of a lantern, put it up high – hopefully safely out of reach –  and left.

When…

View original post 1,052 more words

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

