The aftermath of the Fling…

Oh my, over a week has passed since I and two busloads of other bloggers and garden writers were carted around our fair city and exposed to a marvelous array of nurseries, public and private gardens, and even a visit to our favorite publisher – Timber Press.

Books, breakfast and swag bags! We were treated like royalty!

Books, breakfast and swag bags! We were treated like royalty!

And, I had no idea there were so many actual authors among us. Cool and humbling - all at the same time! :)

And, I had no idea there were so many actual, published authors among us. Cool and humbling – all at the same time! 🙂

The week that followed this extravaganza was a bit tumultuous for me. It involved some major restructuring at work, and entailed moments of surprise, lasting relief, a dose of compassion and lastly, a long over-due springing into action to make up for lost time. I hardly had time to contemplate that I was also scheduled for surgery until I was actually sitting in the waiting room. But, throughout this entire week, I have been on a bit of a high from last weekend’s exceptionally well organized Fling, and although I haven’t really written much yet, I have had some time to reflect upon it. It was a whirlwind of garden diversity! So, please accept this as a starting point – a kind of original reflection, and synopsis of the future posts to come…

From the cool, lush, green, soothing shade of the Japanese Garden...

From the cool, lush, green, soothing shade of the Japanese Garden…

... to the burning hot - both in temperatures and color - garden of JJ DeSousa...

… to the burning hot – both in temperatures and color – garden of JJ DeSousa…

 ... to the meticulously manicured angular perfection of Danger Garden...

… to the meticulously manicured angular perfection of Danger Garden…

... contrasted with the swishy, soft foliar textures manifested in Scott Weber's garden.

… contrasted with the swishy, soft foliar textures manifested in Scott Weber’s garden.

 

Floramagoria made me laugh out loud and giggle with delight on numerous occasions...

Floramagoria made me laugh out loud and giggle with delight on numerous occasions…

 ... and Chickadee Garden had me standing still at rapt attention eying the resident wildlife enjoying themselves like Romans at a banquet. (I didn't get any good photos of all the buzzing activity, but there were plenty of accommodations for our winged friends throughout the garden.)

… and Chickadee Garden had me standing still at rapt attention eying the resident wildlife enjoying themselves like Romans at a banquet. (I didn’t get any good photos of all the buzzing activity, but there were plenty of accommodations for our winged friends throughout the garden.)

I rejoiced over the exuberant joy and playfulness of the Fuller/Ernst garden. This is from the Ernst side.

I rejoiced over the exuberant joy and playfulness of the Fuller/Ernst garden. This is from the Ernst side.

And, this is from the Fuller side of things. I had planned to go back last night for their HPSO Open Garden, but felt a little under the weather after the surgery (this surprised me as it really was just a surface thing), so I  didn't.

And, this is one of the quieter corners of the Fuller side of things – a seating area on top of the garage. I had planned to go back for their HPSO Open Garden, but felt a little under the weather after the surgery. This surprised me – as it really was just a surface thing – but in the end,  I didn’t.

At the Rose Test Garden, directly following the Portland Japanese Garden, most of us bolted straight for one of the few shady spots at the Amphitheater, where lunch, and a Corona presentation were served.

At the Rose Test Garden, directly following the Portland Japanese Garden, most of us bolted straight for one of the few shady spots at the Amphitheater, where lunch, and a Corona presentation were served.

The pockets of cooling shade, filtered light, foliar wonders, and water that rewarded us as we followed the trails cascading down the hill.

The pockets of cooling shade, filtered light, foliar wonders, and water that rewarded us as we followed the trails cascading down the hill in the Old Germantown Gardens.

The breathtaking view from the Westwind Farm Studio had me contemplating the necessity of landscaping in a supporting, as opposed to a leading role. How could anything we humans do trump that view?

The breathtaking view from the Westwind Farm Studio had me contemplating the necessity of landscaping in a supporting, as opposed to a leading, role. How could anything we humans do ever trump that view?

The garden of John Kuzma had some marvelous combos. Despite having suffered severe die-back during the worst winter in Oregon memory, there was still plenty to marvel at. Zone denial at its best!

The garden of John Kuzma had some marvelous combos. Despite having suffered severe die-back during the worst winter in Oregon memory, there was still plenty to marvel at. Zone denial at its best!

The gardens surrounding the McMenamin's Kennedy School offered some wonderful textural and contrasts...

The gardens surrounding the McMenamin’s Kennedy School offered some wonderful, colorful textures and contrasts…

and Bella Madrona offered a kind of voyeuristic mysticism...

and Bella Madrona offered a kind of voyeuristic mysticism.

... a place for secret meetings and rituals...

A place made for secret meetings and rituals…

...where even the trees tell stories. It was a magical place, and a perfect ending to an action-packed weekend!

…where even the trees tell stories. It was a magical place, and a perfect ending to an action-packed weekend!

But, nurseries, you say… Didn’t you say you visited nurseries? Boy, did we ever! Some of the best the city has to offer – Pomarius, Cistus, and Joy Creek.

Our welcome kick-off party was held at Pomarius - a small nursery with unusual plants, fabulous displays, and some of the best urban, borrowed scenery ever!

The Fling welcome kick-off party was held at Pomarius – a small nursery with a plethora of unusual plants and fabulous displays. With busy highways high up above, and surrounded by cleverly displayed statuary and architectural surfaces, it possessed  some of the best urban, borrowed scenery ever!

...Cistus, with a plant selection so hot, it was only matched by the merciless sun that beamed down on us.

Cistus, of course, with a plant selection so hot, it was only matched by the merciless sun that beamed down on us.

The display gardens of Joy Creek in all their summer glory never disappoints.

The lush and exuberant display gardens of Joy Creek in all their summer glory never disappoint, even on a sweltering hot day.

I could easily have spent much more time in all the many places we visited, and if the Andy the bus driver hadn’t rounded us all up and returned us to Portland, I would probably still be wondering aimlessly around Bella Madrona, lost in its mysteries.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Fling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The aftermath of the Fling…

  1. Heather says:

    This was such a nice overview! P.s. You better get in some tequila shots and late nights before your kids come back. All I’ve seen is work and surgery!

  2. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Your recap brought back so many fond memories of the fling! It’s always a joy to see you and reconnect with all the flingers and those gardens – amazing! Thanks.

    • annamadeit says:

      It was wonderful to see you too, Peter! And yes – the residue of those gardens still linger in my mind. I haven’t settled on a favorite yet, and don’t know if I ever will. They are all so different, and all so fantastic!

  3. Beautiful images which capture the essence of each special place. Nice!!

  4. ricki grady says:

    Hitting the highlights with a deft running commentary was just what I needed right now. Thanks!

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, this weekend had so many highlights that I would be hard pressed to keep the impressions apart if I didn’t string them up as beads on a necklace… Glad you enjoyed it, Ricki!

  5. hb says:

    Excellent summary and photos. I agree, the Fling was perfectly organized. It could not have been better (except the weather).

  6. Pam/Digging says:

    It is so fun to read all the recap posts, and yours is bringing back wonderful memories. I’m glad you’re on the mend from your surgery, especially coming right after the Fling, which I find requires a little recuperation time itself!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks! I’m all bounced back by now, so now I have to make myself think back upon all the wonders of the Fling. You’re right – it does take some recuperation and mental processing! There was so much!!!

Leave a Reply

