Blooms and Foliage – December 2014

Alas, it’s the last month of a year that can probably be considered a pretty good one, from a variety of standpoints. I hope 2015 will build on this year’s good beginnings but hopefully also curb at least one annoying trend. My New Year’s resolution will be to better my Butterfinger ways – in the second half of 2014, I broke one camera and two phones. The last addition to this disturbing line-up happened yesterday when my phone slipped out of my pocket and into a fish pond. So, the photos you are about to see were shot with my husband’s camera – which he reluctantly, and with a modicum of warranted suspicion, lent me.

My Camellia sasanqua 'Yuletide' is still going strong - just in time for Yuletide. It was blooming for last mont's Bloom Day as well, so sorry for the redundancy. Great plant for longevity, though!

My Camellia sasanqua ‘Yuletide’ is still going strong – just in time for Yuletide. It was blooming for last mont’s Bloom Day as well, so sorry for the redundancy. Great plant for longevity, though!

A Hellebore 'Jacob' which languished far too long in its minuscule pot seems to be making a recovery.

A Hellebore ‘Jacob’ which languished far too long in its minuscule pot seems to be making a recovery.

Fragrant Viburnum bodnantense 'Dawn"  has been going at it for a while.  Such a pick-me-up!

Fragrant Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn” has been going at it for a while. Such a pick-me-up!

Speaking of fragrance - the Daphne aureomarginata is getting ready to take over once the Viburnum is winding down.

Speaking of fragrance – the Daphne aureomarginata is getting ready to take over once the Viburnum is winding down.

The Fatsia flowers which are usually such a staple food source for resident  hummingbirds have been mostly blown into oblivion by the Pineapple Express and other wonky wind attacks we have been seeing a lot of lately.

The Fatsia flowers which are usually such a staple food source for resident hummingbirds have been mostly blown into oblivion by the Pineapple Express and other wonky wind attacks we have been seeing a lot of lately. I would hang some feeders up, if it weren’t for the fact that, while cramming unplanted tenders into my shed in anticipation of the first cold snap, I dropped them both and they shattered. Butterfingers indeed!

One thing I really like about fall is that once all those leaves fall, there is a whole new set of goodies hiding behind them that are suddenly in the lime light. Not sure exactly what kind of fern this is, but I do know how much I appreciate it. Two months ago, I didn't even know it was there!

One thing I really like about fall is that once all those leaves fall, there is a whole new set of goodies hiding behind them that are suddenly visible. Not sure exactly what kind of fern this is, but I do know how much I appreciate it. Two months ago, I didn’t even know it was there!

The missing leaves revealed  those ever so attractive red twigs on the Dogwood. The Yucca in the background is probably one of the first plants I planted after moving here. It hasn't failed me yet - rain, shine, or ice.

The missing leaves revealed those ever so attractive red twigs on the Dogwood. The Yucca in the background is probably one of the first plants I planted after moving here. It hasn’t failed me yet – rain, shine, or ice.

Same with this one, Yucca 'Bright Star' - although it is new for this year, and not yet filled in. Such great color and form, though - I can't wait to see it grow. In the background, my first Calistemon - of the viridiflora variety. Fingers crossed for green blooms!

Same with this one, Yucca ‘Bright Star’ – although it is new for this year, and not yet filled in. Such great color and form, though – I can’t wait to see it develop. In the background, my first Calistemon – of the viridiflora variety. Fingers crossed for future green blooms!

Well, that’s about it. Here we are, a little more than a week before Christmas. A new camera is definitely on my wish list, as is at least one hummingbird feeder. As for a phone – not really sure if I should be trusted with an expensive phone – my track record is just too debilitating. After seeing my husband’s eyes widened and eyebrows raised in an expression of disbelief mixed with puzzled consternation, upon my explaining how cellphone met water, these new (but not necessarily improved) lyrics to Bob Dylan’s ‘Blowing in the Wind’ entered my mind almost effortlessly. This hodgepodge new song made me laugh, so I’ll end this month’s post with it. By the time the Holidays end my latest mistreated phone will hopefully have dried out completely – and might even still be functioning. Fingers crossed, and Merry Christmas, All! Here is to a less slippery 2015! 🙂

How many phones can a woman destroy
Before you will know she is done?
How many times will she shatter its parts
Or rescue it out of a pond?
Yes, and how many times will the case hit the ground
Before she will know what it takes?
The answer my friend, is blowing in the wind
The answer is blowing in the wind.

Yes, how many weeks can a cell phone exist
Before it is dropped on the floor?
And how many times will it ring out its tune
Before it is crushed by a door?
Yes, and how many times can her man shake his head
In a gesture of utter despair?
The answer my friend, is blowing in the wind
The answer is blowing in the wind.

How many days of good use will it get
Before it slips out of a fist?
And how many times will it take ‘til she knows
That water and cell phones don’t mix?
Yes, and how many times will it take to be sure
Of what circuit boards cannot endure?
The answer my friend is in a bag of rice,
The answer is in a bag of rice.

For more blooms and foliage, jump over to Carol at May Dreams Gardens and Pam at Digging.

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Bloom Day, Foliage Follow Up and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Blooms and Foliage – December 2014

  1. Pam/Digging says:

    Same old, same old, as you put it, looks pretty darn good in your garden! Thanks for sharing. I know your pain re: the cell phone. I dropped one into our pool once.

  2. smith greame says:

    They were stunningly photographed and love the plants and flowers. Thanks for sharing your garden pics as well.

  3. Alison says:

    Merry Christmas Anna! I hope your new year is a less slippery one. My Dawn Viburnum is too young and small for flowers yet, but I have high hopes for it.

  4. Great post using your sweet hubby’s phone! I love your song lyrics.

  5. Kris P says:

    Your poem is great! (I hope your husband appreciated it.) Best wishes for a happy Christmas and better luck with cameras of all types in the new year.

  6. hb says:

    I did not know Fatsia flowers were hummer attractors–thanks for that–the neighbor’s copy hanging over the fence is about to bloom, so I’ll watch to see what happens.

    As the proud owner of a 12 year old cell-a-saurus, well, all I can say is they don’t break easily, and rice works!

    • annamadeit says:

      Glad to hear rice works – I’ll be testing it tonight. That phone isn’t quite 12 years old, but probably 6 or so. Hooray for old, well-constructed things! The only thing I’d miss from my newer phone is the navigation feature – I use that a lot! Yeah, I just learned about the Fatsias a couple of years ago – just one more reason to love their orbital blooms! 🙂

  7. Nell Jean says:

    Lovely bloom day blossoms and foliage at your place in this bleak month.

    He-Who-Mows chuckled when I read him your opening paragraph. We just got new phones because our provider was bought out.

  8. Pingback: My Favorite Photos of 2014 | Flutter & Hum

Leave a Reply

