New year, new camera – first test run!

This past July – on the very first day of the Garden Blogger’s Fling here in Portland – I dropped my camera. It hobbled along for a while and finally died halfway through the third day. Since then, while getting along using various phones with varying results, I have hotly desired a new camera. My pie in the sky was to get one with a view finder. I have watched my friend Laura take one stellar photo after another with her Canon Rebel, so when my stepdad offered me a spare T4i lens he happened to have back in September, I jumped for joy. Thanks to him and to my wonderful husband who completed the set with the camera body this Christmas, I’m now happily snapping away again! So far (three days into it), I have to say I LOVE MY NEW CAMERA!!!! There is no rhyme or reason to the photos below – I’m just having fun seeing things through my new lens, shooting close-ups, and throwing them out there just because… I’m so happy! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU STIG AND JOHN!!! 🙂

Bark of Ulmus parvifolia 'Seiju'

Ornamental cabbage and Mexican feather grass

 

Celery pine and rain drops

 

Staghorn fern

Kalanchoe

Mexican feather grass after rain

Aloe variegata

Poncirus trifoliata or "Flying Dragon"

Agave

Kalanchoe (?) flower

Tillandsia in bauble

Clivia

Calluna vulgaris 'Firefly' in bud

Money plant

IMG_6901

Freezedried leaf on Bloodgood maple

Anthurium

IMG_6903

Hamamelis 'Diane'

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Cool plants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to New year, new camera – first test run!

  1. Loree says:

    These are insanely beautiful, every one. Nice work! I am jealous. We just returned from an amazing 11 days away in SoCal and after downloading my hundreds of photos I was disappointed in what I saw. I think it’s time I upgrade.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Loree! FWIW, it is a lot harder to take good photos in blazing sunlight… As far as upgrades go, I haven’t really explored the manual settings yet – all of these were taken with Autofocus on. In other words, click and go. Hope to be more advanced eventually, but even if I’m not, this camera takes fantastic photos, without much interference at all! So, if you go ahead and upgrade, I think this would be a good choice. I absolutely love it!

  2. mattb325 says:

    Great shots – you must be very pleased with the camera!

  3. Alison says:

    Beautiful shots, Anna! Well done. You have a witch hazel blooming already too.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Alison! The Witch hazel is not mine – it is at work. Actually, all of these except one were from the nursery. It’s a bit slow now that Christmas is over, so I had time to play. No complaints at all! 🙂

  4. Wow, Anna! Nice work with the new camera. I think I know what has just moved to the top of my birthday wish list… thank you for the inspiration!

  5. linda says:

    Wonderful Xmas present ! beautiful photos …I’m a little bit jealous …Philip always talks me out of upgrading , by praising my compact camera pics ! Good technique !

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Linda! No, don’t let him talk you out of it again. I managed to take some nice photos with my previous camera too, but with this one it seems I can hardly go wrong. Taking pictures has always been fun to me, but now it’s exciting!!!

  6. rickii says:

    Happiness and Beauty: there’s your rhyme and your reason…and all this from one who claimed to have skipped Christmas.

    • annamadeit says:

      So true, Ricki! And yes, even though we did so many things differently this year, it really felt like the Christmas spirit was less forced. “Skipped” was probably an exaggeration on my part, as we didn’t skip it entirely – only several of the more stressful components. I think this year might serve as some kind of precedent for the future. 🙂

  7. Kris P says:

    Absolutely beautiful photos Anna! Every single photo is a gem. Now I’m going to have to put that camera on my birthday wishlist (still several months away). Perhaps you can get a second job as a Canon Rebel spokesperson!

    • annamadeit says:

      Aww, thank you, Kris! Oh yes, this is a good camera – so far I highly recommend it. And a videographer friend also gave an approving nod. She said it’s great for video too. I’m terrified I’m going to break it!!!

  8. gorgeous gorgeous just like you 🙂 congrats on the new camera, you deserve it 🙂

  9. mattb325 says:

    I have nominated your blog for a Liebster Award. If you accept, please answer the questions on my post and nominate 5 other people. Best wishes!

    • annamadeit says:

      Oh wow – what a happy surprise on a Tuesday morning! Thank you Matt – I will gratefully accept. The hardest part is to nominate only 5 – there are so many good ones… Thanks again! Your thoughtfulness means a lot! 😀

  10. hb says:

    Enjoy your new camera. Your photos are wonderful!

  11. I had to show My Pirate this post filled with your gorgeous shots! I’m so happy for you. You are going to rock this camera. And thanks for the link love! xoxo

    • annamadeit says:

      Well, thanks for the inspiration! So far it’s just beginner’s luck – I’m still on “Autofocus”. But I actually love what it does even with that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

