My green Amaryllis!

Those of you who have been with me for a while know that I have a thing for green flowers. When I first saw the bulb and the adjoining tag, I was intrigued but suspicious. The photo wasn’t great. The color looked just a little dirty, as one might expect from anything sporting a mix of red and green. The intrigue won out however, so I brought a bulb home to see for myself.

See what I mean?

See what I mean?

The first thing I noticed was its cool, silvery, purple stem which shot up as soon as it got its feet in the soil.

The first thing I noticed was its cool, dark, silvery, purple stem which shot up as soon as it got its feet in the soil.

Here is the first of the four flower buds to break out. You can see how the red striations mingle with the green. This is why it looks a tad bit "off" - why one doesn't perceive it to have a clear green hue when it all opens up.

Here is the first of the four flower buds to break out. You can see how the red striations mingle with the green. This is why it looks a tad bit “off”  when viewed from a distance – why one doesn’t perceive it to have a clear green hue when it all opens up. I do love these buds, though! So cool…

The greenest part of the flower is where it attaches to the stem. The rest is, shall we say, a little muddled. Still pretty, but muddled.

The greenest part of the flower is where it attaches to the stem. The rest is, shall we say, a little muddled. Still pretty, but muddled.

The overall effect is almost more like a greenish yellow.

As it pales toward the edges, the overall effect is often more like a greenish yellow, but when the light is right, yes, it is decidedly green.

IMG_7063

IMG_7064

For comparison, this Amaryllis is sold as white, under the name of 'Wedding Dance'. Personally, I think its chartreuse center makes it  a better "green" Amaryllis than 'Magic Green'. But, since I have a soft spot for oddities, I don't regret buying the 'Magic Green'.

For comparison, this Amaryllis is sold as white, under the name of ‘Wedding Dance’. Personally, I think its chartreuse center makes it a better “green” Amaryllis than ‘Magic Green’. But, since I have a soft spot for oddities, I don’t regret buying the ‘Magic Green’.

I had a feeling my color instincts were correct – and they were – but no matter. In the right light, it definitely has its shining moments, so I guess it qualifies for My Favorite Plant This Week – a meme hosted by Loree of Danger Garden. Happy Fave Day, and forgive me my spotty attendance!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in My favorite plant in the garden this week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My green Amaryllis!

  1. mattb325 says:

    That green is very subtle, but against the red markings it really stands out!

  2. annamadeit says:

    Yeah, I had hoped for a tad bit more, but I still like it! 🙂

  3. Kris P says:

    I picked up 2 ‘Magic Green’ amaryllis bulbs this season too. One is clearly not going to bloom – it’s put out leaves with no flower stalk in sight. The other bloomed but didn’t last long in the heat and wind we had earlier this week, which is too bad. Mine seemed more cream/pale yellow than green. Still, I’m going to try transplanting them somewhere in my garden – some Hippeastrum will naturalize here and look better in the garden (although some just shrivel and die).

    • annamadeit says:

      I agree – the light has to be right for you to really appreciate the green, as the red tends to diminish it – mine often looks yellow too. I saw this great post from HB where she planted her amaryllis bulbs in the ground to marvelous results. I say go for it – I SO wish they would survive up here. I’m turning as green as Magic Green just thinking of what I little California sun can do. Happy planting, Kris! http://pieceofeden.blogspot.com/search/label/Amaryllis%20hybrids

  4. rickii says:

    I’d say the namers overshot on this one. A worthy experiment, even so.

  5. Loree says:

    Indeed, while it’s a beautiful flower green it is not. The white one though, great green there!

  6. annamadeit says:

    I think it would certainly appear a lot greener if it didn’t have all that nullifying red in it. I’d send the breeders back to the hybridization lab.

Leave a Reply

