A lovely January day at Lan Su

Any chance I get, I visit the Lan Su garden. This time, it was in the company of a class of 6- and 7-graders. My kid’s Mandarin teacher set up the field trip, and I took a couple of hours off from work to crash the party. 🙂 About three photos into it, my camera battery died, so my son lent me his phone. So much for being prepared, huh?

I love the roof tiles. And, I learned that the wedge-shaped tiles along the drip line are called 'bat tiles'.

I think they have the most beautiful roof tiles. And, I learned that the wedge-shaped tiles along the drip line are called ‘bat tiles’.

IMG_0275

A close-up of the textures of the Dragon Stone.

A close-up of the textures of the Dragon Stone. So touchable…

An Edgeworthia reflecting its buds in the water below.

An Edgeworthia reflecting its buds in the water below.

A Winter jasmine cascading over the edge.

A Winter jasmine cascading over the edge.

The Tea House, across the pond.

The Tea House, across the pond. It was so quiet – for a while, we were the only people there.

IMG_0296

A blooming Chimonanthus praecox or 'Wintersweet' in bloom -  the fragrance was intoxicating!

A blooming Chimonanthus praecox or ‘Wintersweet’ in bloom – the fragrance was intoxicating!

Here is a close-up.

Here is a close-up.

IMG_0305

 

IMG_0307

IMG_0310

The clouds opened up a little.

 

IMG_0314

Everything was so still… 

A Crape Myrtle - I think this is a 'Natchez'.

A Crape Myrtle – I think this might be a ‘Natchez’.

Its bark is fantastic!

Its bark is fantastic!

The black fruits of Loriope.

The black fruits of Loriope.

IMG_0330

The main pavilion.

IMG_0334

The Tea House tinted purple by the buds of the tree.

IMG_0354

The slanted sun hitting the exquisite pebble paving. Love the green patina of the moss.

IMG_0355

Camellia and Iris confusa behind the screen.

IMG_0362

I think this might be a Metapanax delavayii. So lovely in the winter sun.

IMG_0367

The Aspidistras are dotting the landscape everywhere. Such great, green texture…

IMG_0378

A backlit Loropetalum – we were a little too early for the flowers.

IMG_0336IMG_0339IMG_0347 IMG_0350 IMG_0351 IMG_0363 IMG_0366 IMG_0370IMG_0371 IMG_0375 IMG_0382 IMG_0383 IMG_0386

A man demonstrating how to draw with water colors and a bamboo brush.

A man demonstrating how to draw with water colors and a bamboo brush.

IMG_0400

A dwarf Pommegranate.

IMG_0397

I was really proud of the kids for behaving so well. Many of them were just as bad I was with the incessant snapping of pictures. There is hope for humanity... :)

I was really proud of the kids for behaving so well. Many of them were just as bad I was with the incessant snapping of pictures. There is hope for humanity… 🙂

IMG_0408 IMG_0409 IMG_0412 IMG_0413 IMG_0418 IMG_0420 IMG_0422

A lovely morning indeed. I really can’t get enough of this place. It does wonders for my mental health. Wishing you all a wonderful, peaceful day!

 

 

 

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Visits to other gardens and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A lovely January day at Lan Su

  1. mattb325 says:

    Wow…it looks absolutely lovely! I adore Chinese gardens….they are just incredible. And, if you can get in when it’s quiet, it is pure bliss!

  2. Alison says:

    Thanks for sharing your visit to Lan Su with us. Your pictures show it so tranquil. I bet it was a very different experience from last year when you were there with 80-some bloggers during the Fling.

    • annamadeit says:

      Oh Alison! All I wanted to do during the Fling visit was to either dive into the pool, or hide in the shade. It was miserably hot! So much better in January!

  3. A beautiful post, Anna! We went on the last free day and the garden was packed. I’d prefer to have had your quiet morning in the garden. I love how you framed the garden in your shots. 🙂

  4. I’ve always wanted to move to Portland and this garden is going to be one of my first stops! Thanks for sharing these awesome pictures! They motivate me to achieve my dream some day.

  5. Peter/Outlaw says:

    A beautiful morning at Lan Su indeed. The reflections are exquisite! Thanks for sharing these less crowded images if this tranquil and special place.

  6. Pauline says:

    You certainly found a wonderfully tranquil place to visit, I’m sure the children were amazed by it all. The garden looks so peaceful, somewhere to spend a long time and recharge the batteries. The flowers are so beautiful, set off so wonderfully by the amazing buildings.

    • annamadeit says:

      When the kids were little, I actually had a membership to Lan Su. It was such a nightmare to go back then – they were too small to appreciate it – that I hardly ever went. I’m so glad they are finally old enough to see and enjoy the beauty. Makes me happy!

  7. rickii says:

    Even armed with only a phone, your eye for beauty and composition take over.

  8. Kris P says:

    What a wonderful time to visit! I can feel the peacefulness of the place in your photos – quite an accomplishment in itself given that you were accompanied by 6th and 7th graders. Winter adds an extra note of solemnity to the garden, brightened by the small touches of floral color.

  9. I really loved this garden and want to come back to Portland to see it again as well as the Japanese garden. Looks like a fun day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

