Wednesday Vignette – the wonders of a wall

Sometimes, you see a material combo where the presence of the individual components lift each other, and make each other sing. This wall is part of a relatively recent development in North Portland at the intersection of MLK Blvd, and NE Failing Street. Somehow, this combo feels really Pacific Northwest to me. The woodgrain of the forms still visible in the concrete, positioned against the dark stain of the overlapping boards – whose naturally uneven edges have been left as is. Add to that, the slick, brushed steel frames of the plate glass windows, juxtaposed against the rusticity of the siding, and you have perfection. I really love this. Somber, unassuming, and supremely elegant!

Notice the nail heads' steely sheen  against the dark-stained wood siding.

Notice the nail heads’ steely sheen, glinting against the dark-stained wood siding.

The wavy edges make for interesting shadow lines.

The wavy edges make for interesting shadow lines.

All of it put together. Isn't it wonderful?

All of it put together, with the expanse of glass reflecting the street trees, and bike parking under the overhang. Isn’t it wonderful?

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – the wonders of a wall

  1. Mark and Gaz says:

    It is Anna, elements of a good contemporary building.

  2. Pauline says:

    Stunning in its simplicity!

  3. mattb325 says:

    Love it – and I equally love the wood grain pattern left imprinted on the concrete from the formwork. It’s a really great design

  4. Ah, I recognize the work of one of the architects I used to work with! (the building)…it’s a good one.

  5. rickii says:

    Stunning! I would like to see a shot of the building as a whole.

    • annamadeit says:

      I guess I should have taken an overall also… Oh well, next time I feel the pull of a Cedo’s lunch, (which is across the street) I will snap one!

  6. Your walls are much more interesting than mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

