Wednesday Vignette – the beauty of urban grit

IMG_8476One of my favorite components of urban grit is the graffiti adorning train cars everywhere. I find them fascinating! I always wonder about their makers, what does the art mean, what do the letters stand for, where was it created, how far has it traveled… etc. I consider them works of art in their own rights – they showcase obvious, yet anonymous talent. Society considers the originators criminals and outcasts, and maybe they are – who knows? But they are also superbly talented. Sure, painting someone else’s property is an illicit pursuit, but still… I don’t mean those lame tags that are Sharpied onto street signs and sprayed on garage doors. These are of a different caliber, for sure. I would love to have one of them come over and do a trick on the back wall of my garage. I think that would be awesome, but how and where to find these elusive souls – who knows? For now, I will just enjoy their work in all its anonymity.

 

 

IMG_8480

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – the beauty of urban grit

  1. mattb325 says:

    You may have to commission banksy…if you can ever find him 🙂 Sometimes you hear about them through a local newspaper where the council has commissioned local graffiti artists to paint a bare wall (the idea being that such a practice deters random graffiti attacks)….at any rate, good luck with your search 🙂

  2. rickii says:

    Beauty is a state of mind

  3. Kris P says:

    Graffiti can be beautiful. I rather wish we’d decriminalize it by permitting it in certain venues (like railroads!).

    • annamadeit says:

      Agreed – there is just something enchanting about these railroad cars – especially the fact that they are roaming the world, detached from those who created them. Not sure why Kris, but that alone fascinates me!

Leave a Reply

