March is the new April

Things are moving along at madcap speeds out there. If I miss a couple of days, I can always count on something having changed when I finally get out there. This time, there were Tulips among other treasures. And more blooming Clematis.

The 'Apple Blossom' Clematis is pretty much done for this time.

The ‘Apple Blossom’ Clematis is pretty much done for this year.

The 'Early Sensation' Clematis (by far my favorite evergreen Clematis) is covered in buds...

The ‘Early Sensation’ Clematis (by far my favorite evergreen Clematis) is covered in buds…

... and a few of the flowers have opened completely. Love their green centers!

… and a few of the little flowers have opened completely. Love their little green centers!

The Trout lily's buds from a couple of days ago...

The Trout lily’s buds from a couple of days ago…

... have now opened. I started with one a few years ago. It must find my tough love agreeable - now there is a small colony of these divine little creatures.

… have now opened. I started with one a few years ago. It must find my tough love agreeable – now there is a small colony of these divine little creatures.

I adore the tiny red brushes that constitute the flower of the Sweet fern - Comptonia peregrina.

I adore the tiny red brushes that constitute the flower of the Sweet fern – Comptonia peregrina.

The Edgeworthia - the star of February's posts - is pushing out fresh blue-green leaves.

The Edgeworthia – the star of February’s posts – is pushing out fresh blue-green leaves.

Bleeding hearts of both the red and white variety.

Bleeding hearts of both the red and white variety.

I was surprised to see how far the Podophyllum pleianthum has come in just a few days.

I was surprised to see how far the Podophyllum pleianthum has come in just a few days.

The Trillium had some close encounters with slugs, by the looks of it.

The Trillium nearby has opened.

This poor little start had a close encounter with slugs earlier, but is making a come-back. Poor little thing...

This tortured little start had a close encounter with slugs earlier, but is making a come-back. Poor little thing…

A lone purple tulip - a nice surprise!

A lone purple tulip – a nice surprise!

I completely missed this one when I was compiling my Marsala post last week - the flowers of the Acuba. It would have been a perfect addition to that post.

I completely missed this one when I was compiling my Marsala post last week – the flowers of the Acuba. It would have been a perfect addition to that post.

A viridiflora tulip.

A viridiflora tulip.

Four Tulipa clusiana 'Lady Jane' wide open, lapping up the sunshine.

Four Tulipa clusiana ‘Lady Jane’ wide open, lapping up the sunshine. They are all trying to escape the oppressive branches of a smothering red twig Dogwood.

This is what the slender little beauties look like closed up. The best part about them (besides happily multiplying) is that their foliage is thin and grasslike. None of that floppy mess that accompanies its beefier brethren.

This is what the slender little beauties look like closed up. The best part about them (besides happily multiplying) is that their foliage is thin and grasslike. None of that floppy mess that accompanies its beefier brethren.

IMG_8682

Lovely little Snowflake primrose. That's about all the snow I saw this year.

Lovely little Snowflake primrose. That’s about all the snow I saw this year.

Not only is the Lilac blooming - it is also raining flowers down on the fern below.

Not only is the Lilac blooming – it is also raining flowers down on the fern below.

Another happy multiplier is the Ipheion - I love its starry faces. And they last a long time...

Another happy multiplier is the Ipheion – I love its starry faces. And they last a long time…

I would be lying if I denied the abundance of these.

I would be lying if I denied the abundance of these. I try to confine them before they scatter in the wind.

The Iris confusa is starting its long, extended flower show.

The Iris confusa is starting its long, extended flower show.

More tulips. I really like the white, egg shaped form of these. Oh hell - I like them all! I'm grateful I live now instead of in the 1600's, so I can afford to surround myself with them. I'm a sucker for all kinds of bulbs, but Tulips in all shapes and forms completely bowl me over.

More tulips. I really like the white, egg shaped form of these. Oh hell – I like them all! I’m grateful I live now instead of in the 1600’s, so I can afford to surround myself with them. I’m a sucker for all kinds of bulbs, but Tulips in all shapes and forms completely bowl me over.

Ok fine - Tulips AND Fritillarias - they both turn me into a quivering mess.

Ok fine – Tulips AND Fritillarias – they both turn me into a quivering mess with zero willpower.

The garden is presided over by Manneman -  our resident tiger - with airs of supremacy and illusions of grandeur. He likes to think he rules the neighborhood from the hood of our car, when in reality we all know he is just a soft, cuddly softie.

The garden is presided over by Manneman – our resident tiger – who with airs of supremacy and illusions of grandeur rules the neighborhood from the hood of our car. In reality we all know he is just a big, cuddly softie.

Here, he is giving me the stink-eye because I had the audacity to photograph him when he was napping.

Here he is giving me the stink-eye because I had the audacity to photograph him when he was napping.

More often than not, this is what he does all day. Quite frankly, I couldn't imagine the garden without him. He reminds me to take it easy, and enjoy this life to the fullest. If I keep practicing, in my next life, maybe I will attain the life of a pampered house cat - a goal as worthy as any other, I think!

More often than not, this is what he does all day. Quite frankly, I couldn’t imagine the garden without him. He reminds me to take it easy, and enjoy this life to the fullest. If I keep practicing, in my next life, maybe I will attain the life of a pampered house cat – a goal as worthy as any other, I think!

 

 

 

 

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in My garden, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to March is the new April

  1. Mark and Gaz says:

    It’s amazing how advanced it is there with you guys, with so much spring activity going on already. Great pics!

  2. Peter/Outlaw says:

    This is one interesting spring with some things way ahead and others keeping their regular schedule. Such a busy time in the garden with so many tasks calling for attention. It’s a bit overwhelming at times! Your plants are looking wonderful, especially that handsome orange Manneman!

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha- he is by far my favorite too, Peter! I can always count on him for companionship out there. The other men in my house don’t have half the gardening nerve that he has. 🙂

  3. So much beauty! What exactly is that “tortured little start” that’s coming back from a slug attack?

    • annamadeit says:

      When I wrote the post late last night I couldn’t remember… Of course you had to ask! So, I went outside to grab the tag. Here goes: ‘Pillow Talk’ Matthiola incana Brompton Stocks. Mounding and woody in habit with strap-like silver foliage. June – September blooms of pure white fading to pink with a very sweet fragrance, especially at night. Zone 7. Anyway, saw it at Garden Fever when it did have leaves, and thought it looked so interesting I had to get it. Are you familiar with it? Right now, it’s convalescing, but I think it sounds worthy of a good spot, wouldn’t you agree?

  4. rickii says:

    I don’t think I have ever seen Acuba in flower. I’d say that redeems its ordinariness.

  5. Alison says:

    Spring really is going by too quickly. I’m running to keep up, but I feel like I’m standing in place. So much still to do out there. Mannemann is lovely, I love ginger cats.

  6. mattb325 says:

    So many wonderful things in flower, from the Acuba to the Trillium, but I am absolutely smitten with those Tulipa clusiana – just gorgeous!

  7. annamadeit says:

    Aren’t they lovely? My hands-down fave too, second only after the cat. 😉

  8. Kris P says:

    Spring can take you on a whirlwind journey! We need Bloom Days once a week just to keep up. The photos of Manneman are my favorite, though, as I have a soft spot for cats of all kinds but especially orange tigers.

    • annamadeit says:

      What a great idea, Kris! Except I know for sure I would have a hard time keeping up with more Bloom Days. As for Manneman – I wish you could meet him – you’d love him! 🙂

  9. hoov says:

    Beautiful, beautiful! The tulips especially are perfection. March is the new April here, too.

  10. We are a long way from madcapping but our cherry trees will be opening soon. Yay! Your spring shots are beeyoutiful!!! Love those fritillarias. Must get some!

Leave a Reply

