Wednesday Vignette – birds of a feather converse together

Yesterday, I came upon these two peacocks, seemingly engaged in deep conversation. For a few seconds, seeing them interact made me feel like I was privy to something really special, but then I realized it probably wasn’t. To think that other living beings don’t communicate was such a typical, ridiculous, arrogant human thing to think, that it made me feel like a total dork. For all I know, they were probably making dinner plans… Duh!

I wonder what they are saying...

I wonder what they are saying…

UPDATE: In case you wonder what makes the peacock feathers so iridescent, it is because of a phenomenon called “structural color”. From a 2013 post on my other blog (The Creative Flux) where I touch on the subject:

“The interesting thing about structural color is that its metallic luminescence is caused by layers of transparent cells at a nanometric scale, that refract the underlying color as light, beaming back from a variety of angles. This is why we get this constantly changing iridescence that in effect is impossible to pin down as *one* color – we often perceive it as a range of colors – often bluish greens. Because structural color is manifested in its inherent physical surface geometries rather than as a separately applied layer of pigment, it holds up extremely well – it does not fade, dematerialize, or in other ways stray from its original shine. Amazingly, the only recorded change in a 2011 discovery of 47 million year-old beetle fossils, was a slight reddening of the original color! Time will tell how the fields of science, energy and design will use this relatively recent discovery.”

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – birds of a feather converse together

  1. Probably arguing about who’s turn it was to take out the trash.

  2. Alison says:

    I decided to join your new meme today. My post is here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2015/04/wednesday-vignette.html

    The color on those peacocks is so striking!

  3. Pauline says:

    Fantastic colours, I’ve always loved peacocks, to see two together is awesome!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Pauline! I waited around for a while, hoping they would display their tail feathers, but they were cozied up, waiting for their dinner to be served. Maybe I’ll catch them in their parade uniforms next time. I agree – even without their tails open, their colors are astounding!

  4. Kris P says:

    Wonderful photograph with the background of lime/yellow foliage. There are peacocks in your area?! We have them here too, although I’ve had only one visit my own garden (probably because the neighborhood coyotes make long-term residence unlikely). The community is divided over their presence as they can be destructive and very, very noisy but, fortunately, a local ordinance keeps the peacock-haters under control.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks! How cool to have wild ones strutting about! But no – these are kept by a local plant broker that I visited yesterday. What kinds of things do they destroy?

  5. mattb325 says:

    I love peacocks – and that is great shot of the two males together (my guess is that they are sizing up the local peahens, being spring and all!) – some of the larger gardens here have them in residence – on frosty mornings their call echoes far and wide. It’s an amazing sound!

    • annamadeit says:

      They can be so loud! I remember going to a concert once at a Zoo, and the stage was really close to where the pea fowl were hanging out. It sounded as if they were trying to sing along… it was hilarious, except I felt a little bad for the musicians!

  6. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Gorgeous photo! I love peacocks and years ago, when we owned an antique mall in the country, neighbors had a flock of them that would sometimes land on the roof of our building. They’re so beautiful and their sound is interesting, like tortured children screaming. When my kids at school are having a particularly naughty day, I think of peacock song and smile.

    I finally got around to joining Vignette Wednesday. My post is here: http://www.outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2015/04/wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha – I can just see you sitting there with kids gone wild, and a sardonic smile on your lips. Yes, for as beautiful as they are, they do sound terrible! And I’m totally stoked that you joined in our Wednesday celebration! Welcome!

  7. rickii says:

    Fascinating explanation of the phenomenon of irridescence. I finally got it together to join in, so here goes: http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/4458

Leave a Reply

