Home Gardeners are NOT the Problem!

This is such an illuminating post on the California drought, and the misconceptions surrounding it that are being purported and sustained, that I just had to share!

ShowerFinalSmall(1) © Art by Lisa Crowther

Gardeners! Are you as confused as I was over whether we should just completely stop watering our gardens because of California’s “worst drought in history?” Even as I was seeing the greenest grass, the most wildflowers and more vernal pools filled to the brim than I had seen in at least 5 years on my morning hikes in the East Bay Hills, everyone was telling me how scary the drought was. Folks visiting our nursery would apologize for buying a few plants and for even watering their small urban gardens at all. I was away from the nursery one day when the final straw happened. I was taking a shower in the communal shower room after a swim at my local swimming pool. Picture me naked (lol, no don’t!), showering with 3 other ladies, when I bent over to pick up my shampoo bottle off…

View original post 1,371 more words

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Home Gardeners are NOT the Problem!

  1. Kris P says:

    Thanks for sharing Annie’s blog post, Anna. While I periodically visit her site to review plant specs or to order plants, I don’t often look at her blog so I missed this. To say that the California’s drought and the state’s response to it is alarming and frustrating doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel about it. I’ve been going crazy looking at everything I do and everything I could possibly do to address the problem so I don’t end up watching my garden slowly die.

  2. annamadeit says:

    Well, Kris – if you interpret her words like I did, I think you can water your garden with a clean conscience. You and other gardeners like you, are the wholesome, radical opposite of the real culprits. Just think of how many other critters your actions are sustaining in the process. You should be proud of everything you have accomplished in making your garden as drought tolerant as possible while still maintaining a lush, thriving garden. Heck – I’m proud of you! 🙂

  3. Pauline says:

    If only everyone would grow plants that suit their conditions there wouldn’t be a problem. Only my newly planted plants get watered for the first year, after that they are on their own and we never, ever water the lawn!

  4. gardenqueen says:

    This blog post and the linked articles are very enlightening. My husband and I have been doing all we can think of to reduce water use, but I’m not willing to see my garden die. I can totally see getting rid of unused lawns, but with natural wildlife habitat disappearing at such an alarming rate, sometimes gardens are the only place birds, insects, etc. have to go.

Leave a Reply

