An April flashback

April was horrendously busy, so I never got to show off the lovelies that were sprouting up here and there in the usual monthly memes. After positively balmy March weather, with the arrival of April, we regressed to more normal spring conditions. For the same reason florists have refrigerators, I like it a little cold. I get to meet the morning chill in a big puffy jacket – nice and warm, with a steaming cup of morning coffee in hand. I loved it. Best of all, it makes the flowers last a lot longer, and gives me a chance to take them all in before they wilt prematurely in the heat. So now, even though most of it has faded into memory, wanna take a look? Well, let’s see, shall we…

This time of year, despite all the blooming wonders, ferns and other unfurling foliage wonders are by far my favorites.

This time of year, despite all the blooming wonders, ferns and other unfurling foliage wonders are by far my favorites.

Love the spiraling origami folds of an emerging Mayapple. You can see an open leaf in the background.

Love the spiraling origami folds of an emerging Mayapple. You can see an open leaf in the background.

I find the Hartstongue fern absolutely irresistible as it unrolls its fronds.

I find the Hartstongue fern absolutely irresistible as it unrolls its fronds.

The lovely, native Uvularia basking in the sunlight.

The lovely, native Uvularia basking in the sunlight.

The new mouse ear leaves of Ulmus parvifolia 'Seiju' displaying a marvelous range of greens.

The new mouse ear leaves of Ulmus parvifolia ‘Seiju’ displaying a marvelous range of greens.

This foliage combo always makes me happy - Iris sibirica and native Vancouveria hexandra.

This foliage combo always makes me happy – Iris sibirica and native Vancouveria hexandra.

For quite some time, I had been searching for a Shredded umbrella plant - a Synelesis. I still hadn't found one when I saw this Hellebore. Its leaves reminded me of it, so I brought it home. It didn't  bloom this year, but with foliage like that - who cares? Love it!

For quite some time, I had been searching for a Shredded umbrella plant – a Synelesis. I still hadn’t found one when I saw this Hellebore. Its leaves reminded me of it, so I brought it home. It didn’t bloom this year, but with foliage like that – who cares? Love it!

The flowers of another Hellebore have faded to green - how lovable is that?

The flowers of another Hellebore have faded to green – how lovable is that?

My favorite evergreen Clematis. Can't get enough of it! Great, fluffy seed heads too...

My favorite evergreen Clematis – ‘Early Sensation’ in full, fabulous bloom. Can’t get enough of it! Great, fluffy seed heads too…

I like how the leaves of the Eremurus twist.

I like how the leaves of the Eremurus twist.

You have to get down below the massive umbrella-shaped leaves of the Chinese Mayapple to see the dark red flowers. Such a cool plant!

You have to get down below the massive umbrella-shaped leaves of the Chinese Mayapple to see the dark red flowers. Such a cool plant!

The new growth of my Metapanax davidii is a nice, rich red.

The new growth of my Metapanax davidii is a nice, rich red.

The flowers of Euphorbia rigida have been out for months, and by now they have faded to a lovely red. So cool...

The flowers of Euphorbia rigida have been out for months, and by now they have faded to a lovely red. So cool…

Yet another Hellebore - this one with really cool leaves!

Yet another Hellebore – this one with really cool leaves!

I fell hard for the flowers of this Geum. Remind me of picking bouquets of my childhood's 'humleblomster', growing in the meadows of Sweden. Got a little homesick, actually, when I saw it.

I fell hard for the flowers of this Geum. Remind me of picking bouquets of my childhood’s ‘humleblomster’, growing in the meadows of Sweden. Got a little homesick, actually, when I saw it.

I never understood people who deadhead Pasque flowers - the seed heads are awesome!

I never understood people who deadhead Pasque flowers – the seed heads are awesome!

The bells of my Enkianthus.

The bells of my Enkianthus. Worth waiting for, for sure.

Red Bleeding hearts, nodding in the shade.

Red Bleeding hearts, nodding in the shade.

Here is the white version. Mine is growing in quite the deep shade, and they bloom for weeks and weeks. At least a month and a half.

Here is the white version. Mine is growing in quite the deep shade, and they bloom for weeks and weeks. At least a month and a half.

It is clear I have a thing for dangly, red flowers. Found this Abutilon to be completely irresistible.

It is clear I have a thing for dangly, red flowers. Found this Abutilon to be completely irresistible.

The red seeds of the Bloodgood maple never fail to make me smile...

The red seeds of the Bloodgood maple never fail to make me smile…

Bloodgood maple in spring

I discovered the multicolored center of this Clematis, the name of which I have forgotten.

I discovered the multicolored center of this Clematis, the name of which I have forgotten.

Here it is, before it opened.

Here it is, before it opened.

I like the contrast between the Camassia and the 'Golden Spirit' Cotinus.

I like the contrast between the Camassia and the ‘Golden Spirit’ Cotinus.

The most otherworldly of my tulips. I have no recollection whatsoever of ever having planted it, but apparently I was once of sound mind. Totally cool!

The most otherworldly of my tulips. I have no recollection whatsoever of ever having planted it, but apparently I was once of sound mind. Totally cool!

Finally, a newly planted daffodil with interesting color - 'Altun Ha'.

Finally, a newly planted daffodil with interesting color – ‘Altun Ha’.

Here is a close-up.

Here is a close-up.

I'll end with a close-up of another fern - a Woodwardia, or Chain fern. I've been a little obsessed with ferns lately. Stand by for a post on their curly goodness - coming soon! :)

I’ll end as I started –  with a photo of another fern – a Woodwardia, or Chain fern. I’ve been a little obsessed with ferns lately. Stand by for a post on their curly, swirly goodness – coming soon! 🙂

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Bloom Day, Cool plants, Foliage Follow Up and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to An April flashback

  1. Mark and Gaz says:

    So much growth and beauty going on in the garden Anna, and lovely photos!

  2. Pauline says:

    Super photos, I too am a fan of ferns, will look forward to your post about them. So many beautiful flowers, your garden must look very pretty at the moment

  3. gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous….such combinations, too, Miss Anna..lovely! Some new ones for me to try, such as that evergreen clematis. Maybe I need to scrap mine and try this one instead.

  4. Thank you for the April flashback! I also prefer cool weather, though instead of coffee I usually drink diet coke in the mornings in all seasons – a horrible habit I picked up in college and never dropped. Beautiful photos and flowers – I am so intrigued by that ‘Early Sensation’. I also grow Prairie Smoke and pink and white Bleeding Heart – and Uvularia, one of my favorites!

    • annamadeit says:

      Yes Jason – you need an Early Sensation! They are lovely, indeed! I just rescued my Uvularia from some really dry shade, and it is thanking me profusely. 🙂

  5. Glenda says:

    I can’t wait for your post on ferns,it’s going to make me happy,I just know it will😃

  6. Oh Anna those are all such gorgeous detail shots! When am I going to get to see your garden?

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha – there is a reason they are close-up detail shots… But, you are always welcome – even if half of the garden is still a trip hazard…

  7. Linda Coombs says:

    Beautiful ,Anna ! Wonderful time of year.

  8. rickii says:

    What Loree said. These teasers are building up the anticipation.

    • annamadeit says:

      You are welcome anytime, Rickii! Maybe you can help me make some space? I think I need to post some overall shots to bring the anticipation levels down to where they should be…

Leave a Reply

