Wednesday Vignette – drift wood magic

I’m on the road this week. The NNBA (The Northwest Nursery Buyers Association) is arranging a two-day tour of nurseries around the Tacoma/Kitsap peninsula. So much fun, and lots to learn from each one. We saw seven yesterday, and will see another four today. So, here is a quick vignette that I thought was lovely from yesterday’s visit – a combo of artichoke, eryngium, rosemary, and or course – driftwood. So lovely…

Windmill nursery had lots of things to see, but this cluster, sitting on the floor near the back caught my eye. If I were them, I would put this one front and center. I think it's gorgeous - don't you?

Windmill nursery had lots of things to see, but this cluster, sitting on the floor near the back caught my eye. If I were them, I would put this one front and center. I think it’s gorgeous – don’t you?

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – drift wood magic

  1. FlowerAlley says:

    Lucky you, as usual.
    You do realize you have a dream life don’t you?
    Thanks for sharing lovely with the lowly. 🙂

  2. Mark and Gaz says:

    Lovely! And blur the edges of the black pots and it would make a nice print.

  3. Alison says:

    Sounds like a fun and educational tour of nurseries. I wish I’d known you were going to be so close, I could have driven down to Windmill to say hi!

    • annamadeit says:

      I would have loved to see you. I should have let you know, but this tour has been a whirlwind… hardly any downtime. We’re on our way to Valley now. Such fun memories from two years back!

  4. Kris P says:

    Your trip sounds like something I’d dream of. I love your driftwood vignette – the floral and foliage companions are perfect.

  5. Jealous! What fun you’re having, and yes – that image is powerful. I’ve joined up this week over on the plant lust blog: http://plantlust.com/blog/2015/07/whats-that-doing-here-a-wednesday-bloomday-vignetteand-praise-for-my-hibiscus/#more-6380

  6. Love those eryngium lfowers, better than any other flowers in this setting; the artichoke foliage is great, as would be any Artemesia, my all time grey foliage plant! Great photos, too. Thanks!

  7. rickii says:

    The subtle coloration is the perfect counterpoint to strong shapes…very chiarascuro of you. Sounds like you are stockpiling tons of material for future posts. Here’s mine: http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/4732

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha – I’m supposed to look at flow, displays, signage, and all that stuff, but instead I’m photographing plant vignettes. How about that?

  8. ambien0 says:

    I have always loved Eryngium — all kinds! Here is my contribution, an uncommon native plant called Pale Indian Plantain: https://breakingwindfarm.wordpress.com/?p=557

  9. Nice. We don’t have driftwood, but sometimes I find a piece of dead branch that looks interesting and I lean it against a tree so people can see it.

Leave a Reply

