Wednesday Vignette – hot flash!

Orange tiger lilies

Last week, at a tour at Vassey nursery in Puyallup, WA, I came across these lilies.

Orange tiger lilies

Stately, recurving, orange, spotted Tiger lilies planted against hot pink Phlox and Monardas.

IMG_1624Is it any wonder that my blood pressure went up just a little?

 

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – hot flash!

  1. ambien0 says:

    I have already begun a “wish list” for next year’s Lilies — lovely photos as always! Here is my contribution, with some help from Kitty: http://wp.me/p3bRk1-95

  2. Alison says:

    Wow! That big cluster of orange lilies next to the hot pink Monarda is perfect! Great shot. My Wednesday Vignette is here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2015/07/wednesday-vignette.html

  3. annamadeit says:

    Figured I’d post another vignette from my other blog – same nursery, different angle. If you ever have a chance to visit Vassey Nursery – take it! it is a lovely, lovely place… https://thecreativeflux.wordpress.com/2015/07/22/wednesday-vignette/

  4. Kris P says:

    The lilies look gorgeous with the bright pinks, Anna. I had the same thought upon seeing your photos – those are Alison’s colors. I have 2 vignettes this week: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2015/07/wednesday-vignettes-spiky-soft.html

  5. Mark and Gaz says:

    No wonder at all, it looks great as a big stand like that!

  6. Pauline says:

    Wow, they look fantastic!

  7. Evan says:

    That’s a hot combo! The lilies are gorgeous. I need to dig out the bulb catalogs and make a lily wishlist now that the deer can’t demolish them. Here’s my contribution this week: http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2015/07/wednesday-vignette-expanding-views.html

  8. rickii says:

    I saw that orange/hot pink combo on another blog lately (Lychnis & Calif. poppies) and fell hard. That’s a hot flash of a different order. My vignette is subdued by comparison. http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/4796

  9. mattb325 says:

    Such a great colour combo – it really does look fantastic!

  10. Peter/Outlaw says:

    One of my favorite nurseries! Hope you enjoyed the tour! Brilliant lily, phlox, and monarda grouping! My Wednesday Vignette is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2015/07/wednesday-vignette_22.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Vassey and Bainbridge were my two faves. Both are lovely places with so much personality, and great plants. I saw your Vignette yesterday – I was a little late posting. You beat me to it, Peter! 🙂

  11. Eat less salt, plant more lilies!

  12. Pingback: Foliage Day: July, 2015 | gardeninacity

  13. Oh, and here’s my contribution. Kind of stretching the boundaries of the meme, but still …
    https://gardeninacity.wordpress.com/2015/07/23/foliage-day-july-2015/

  14. rusty duck says:

    Wow! Now, where are the sunglasses I just got out for Alison’s post..
    If you’d asked me last year about those colours I’d have said “never, ever”, but it really does work.

  15. rindymae says:

    Spicy!

Leave a Reply

