Wednesday Vignette – Bejeweled blacktop

So spectacular, yet so fleeting… Beauty is everywhere.

Red maple leaves on asphalt

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – Bejeweled blacktop

  1. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    So pretty! The first few fallen look so great — not so attractive when they’re joined by the rest of their fellows, making you busy for an hour or more of raking. 😉

  2. Peter/Outlaw says:

    One of my favorite sights of the season is bejeweled pavement! Can almost smell the fragrance of those beautiful maple leaves from here! My WV contribution is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2015/10/wednesday-vignette_28.html

  3. I couldn’t resist sharing a OC&K vignette I came across at Cornell Farms, you know in the interest of drumming up some last minute entries!
    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2015/10/wednesday-vignette-only-4-days-left-to.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I’m hanging on the deadline, as always. I probably won’t get to in until Friday, but I will do my very best to send something in. It’s such a fun idea!

  4. Alison says:

    Your fall leaves are such a beautiful color, Anna! My WV today is also of a fall leaf. http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2015/10/wednesday-vignette_28.html

  5. That is a stunning, vignette, Anna. Your photo composition is lovely! The vignettes all around us are so breathtaking this time of year. Thanks for hosting! http://plantpostings.blogspot.com/2015/10/the-magic-of-autumn-sunlight.html

  6. Kris P says:

    You’re right, Anna, beauty is everywhere – we just have to be ready to see it. Your photo is simple and remarkable at the same time. I didn’t think my current post showing photos of pumpkin devastation fit the Wednesday Vignette theme but I hope to get back in the groove soon.

  7. Evan says:

    I love a scattering of fallen leaves. Fall is such a dramatic season. I think that’s part of why I love it so much. I’ve finally gotten around to posting another vignette, make that two. http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2015/10/wednesday-vignette.html

  8. rindymae says:

    Absolutely stunning!

  9. Elvis says:

    Great minds think alike! I almost posted a very similar picture – it was such a day for fabulous leaf color. But I saw a bit of Julie’s wall and it reminded me of my imagined Oregon – back before I had even moved here: http://mulchmaid.blogspot.com/2015/10/a-rain-soaked-wednesday-vignette.html

  10. So pretty! So sad when you have to rake them all up!

  11. annamadeit says:

    Especially when they’re a soggy, wet mess…

Leave a Reply

