The Celebratory Colors of Fall

A quick walk around the nursery yard with the camera today yielded some pretty photos, which I thought could serve as a suitable celebration of some fabulous news. Most of you know that I am part of a team tasked with revamping a small retail nursery into a showroom for landscape design. For a long time, it’s been slow going, but lately things have improved. Today we passed a major milestone; we doubled the sales of last year’s October. In this industry, the norm is diminishing sales as the temperatures cool. Doubling them is practically unheard of, and a major cause for celebration. So, let’s celebrate!

IMG_6177

IMG_6179

IMG_6180 IMG_6181 IMG_6182 IMG_6183 IMG_6184

IMG_6201

IMG_6185 IMG_6186

IMG_6194

IMG_6187 IMG_6188 IMG_6189 IMG_6191 IMG_6192 IMG_6193 IMG_6195 IMG_6196 IMG_6197 IMG_6198 IMG_6199 IMG_6200 IMG_6202 IMG_6203 IMG_6204 IMG_6206 IMG_6208

So there it is; William, Gina, and Tamara – we rock. And, the four of us need to throw ourselves a party!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Just for fun, Nursery industry and events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Celebratory Colors of Fall

  1. lyart says:

    well done! & great pics, too

  2. Pauline says:

    Stunning photos of stunning colours! How wonderful to be surrounded by such lovely colour while working!

  3. FlowerAlley says:

    I want to know what your lens is. These photos are surreal. My lens has been malfunctioning. Send me yours. 🙂

  4. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    My favorite type of post on mornings I’m feeling slow: fabulous photos and no words to bother with. Beautiful! I especially like the image of the grass with the blue sky as the background — I’m partial to that type of “up” shot. 🙂 Congrats on the job successes too!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Alan. Hopefully this means that it will be easier from now on. We’ve worked our collective butts off for the past two years, so this is a welcome break. 🙂

  5. Congratulations, Miss Anna Bean! It could never have been done without you. I love the photos, I know each and every one of these plants…you are so talented! You can design gardens and take amazing photos, too. xxoo

  6. Alison says:

    Congrats! Thanks for sharing these photos of fall color!

  7. Yay for the Drake’s team…so happy for you guys that all your hard work is paying off. I wish I could get by to see you all in action more often…however the changes between each of the times I’ve visited have been remarkable.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Loree! I have to say though, that the most dramatic physical makeovers are usually attributed to W’s boundless energy and merchandising talent. We are all baffled at his well-honed gift for making it pretty. Btw – I rescued one of those purple Passion vines for you. I just have to get it to you.

  8. Evan says:

    Great photos, and congratulations on an impressive accomplishment!

  9. Beautiful – I especially love all those dramatic reds!

  10. Kris P says:

    Beautiful photos, Anna! And congratulations to you and the rest of your team. Doubling your sales – that’s momentous!

  11. rickii says:

    Put the right people together and magic happens…congrats!

  12. rusty duck says:

    That is a great achievement. Really well done! Wish I was nearer, so many cool plants!

  13. annamadeit says:

    Thanks! Next time you’re in Oregon, I’ll give you the actual tour – not just the virtual! 🙂

  14. rindymae says:

    Beyond gorgeous photos.

Leave a Reply

