Wednesday Vignette – Really, Mom?

It is true that the men in my family have mostly been robbed of their ability to use the greater part of our garden, in favor of my addiction to space-hogging plants. But when my youngest – in a tone of annoyed, yet bemused disbelief – pointed at the gutter and said “Really, Mom?”, I had to defend myself. It really wasn’t me this time. It was probably a squirrel. Or a bird. Seriously… all I know is that once again, it’s time to clean the gutters. It also made me laugh out loud. Perhaps it’s not a bad idea at all. A roof is such a waste of precious space – I would love to make it a living roof, on which to expand my plant hoarding tendencies. Dream on… Did anything inspire a belly laugh in your world this week?

Sunflower in gutter

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – Really, Mom?

  1. Your son’s a wit. My best laugh came yesterday, with the owl peering through the window: http://derrickjknight.com/2015/11/03/recycled-wrought-iron/

  2. rusty duck says:

    Ha! This one’s an oldie, but it made me laugh at the time: http://www.rustyduck.net/2012/09/06/dont-stop-me-now/

  3. Pauline says:

    This wouldn’t work if you tried to do it on purpose!

  4. FlowerAlley says:

    We would use the roof, if we could use the roof, wouldn’t we? I LOVED this.

  5. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    I don’t clean my gutters until they’re producing compost either. 🙂 Around here it’s usually maple saplings that you see growing in gutters. Sunflowers would be amazing!

  6. bergstromskan says:

    Who else can share sunshine like you Anna? All Love, mamma

  7. Aaw, come ON Mom! Ha ha….I see eco-roof in your future. I can help.

  8. hoov says:

    Hope you replied, “Yes, really!” ;^)

  9. rindymae says:

    Love it!!!!

  10. That’s fabulous! Back when we were doing the big dig of lawn and soil to put in the patio we amassed quite the mountain of castoff material. Something (squirrel/bird) planted a sunflower right at the top, it was wonderful.

    My Wednesday Vignette isn’t nearly so unexpected:
    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2015/11/a-wednesday-vine-vignette.html

  11. Alison says:

    Yes, it’s definitely time to get the gutters cleaned. We had a frost here last night, so my pics this morning are of that. My post is here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      It will go on my long, long, long to do list! 🙂 But yes – seeing it overflowing from the torrential rains we had this weekend, was a bit scary, so I think it will be a priority.

  12. Kris P says:

    What’s even more amazing is that your son noticed it before you did. You must be coming home too late in the dark. Here’s my post: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-its-little-things.html

  13. Wo, I’ve never seen a sunflower growing in a gutter before. It’s actually a great idea!!

    Here’s my post: http://www.succulentsandmore.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-avenue-of-trees.html

  14. Yeah, happens every year here. One time while cleaning a gutter, we noticed a snake body….that made think how it got there…maybe dropped by a hawk or other predator?

  15. annamadeit says:

    A snake body?!? Yikes – I would have fallen off the ladder… But yes, how odd – it’s like those crazy stories you hear about things falling from the sky. What was that movie again – the one where it rained frogs?

  16. rickii says:

    Your son brought that scene to my attention too. Even Loree would have to agree that it’s pretty whimsical. The best comedy comes from unexpected figure/field relationships.
    http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/5109

  17. Evan says:

    This one cracks me up. Having met your family, I can imagine the bemusement with which that line was delivered. My vignette is a bit unexpected, but not nearly as humorous. http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-south-into-sunset.html

  18. Peter/Outlaw says:

    This gave me a good laugh today! Thanks! My, far less amusing vignette is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette.html

  19. p seewald says:

    Thinking you have little birdies that want their private garden.

  20. Luisa says:

    Ha! That’s hilarious. I’m surprised that plants aren’t growing in my gutters (which I desperately need to clean, what with El Niño right around the corner).

    My day-late vignette: http://crowandraven.blogspot.com/2015/11/late-vignette-wildlife-wednesday.html

  21. That’s great! I’ve had maple seedlings growing in the gutters, but never a sunflower.

  22. Rose says:

    Haha, I love this! Like Jason, I’ve had maple seedlings growing in my gutters, but never a flower. You may have started a new trend, Anna:)

  23. I love this! We all need roof sunflowers!

Leave a Reply

