Wednesday Vignette – such subtle nuance

Perhaps I am reaching a new stage in my development as a gardener, but I’m really starting to notice conifers around me. I mean noticing in a “oh, I need some of that” kind of way. It is probably futile to try to find an actual explanation of this development – it could be any number of things. For one thing, at a time where leaves are dropping in droves around me, and forming soggy, slippery messes underfoot, the conifers remain stoically unaffected, sporting an air of understated elegance.

Picea pungens globosa and river rocks

It could also be that the past few weeks I have removed several larger items from my garden, and I’m more than a little giddy over the prospect of the newly emptied spots. But no – this is a false sense of excitement. The truth is, that my garden is just now starting to be somewhat navigable. And, there are enough new contenders waiting in the wings to fill every square inch of the newly open space.

Maybe I’m swayed by the fact that many conifers have comparatively tight and tidy appearances? After drowning in my own clutter, could it be that I’m reaching out for the relative calm of their smooth forms and textures, much like a shipwrecked would reach for flotsam?

Who knows…? For now, I’m enjoying this new world that is unfolding – and all its superb contrasts, colors and textures. This one, for example, made me positively drool. Don’t you just love how its colors are echoed in the rock mulch?

Picea pungens globosa and river rocks

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – such subtle nuance

  1. lyart says:

    yor’re richt with the colours. but just wait until they shed their needles, which they gradually will do. messy, too…

  2. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Conifers are wonderful (we don’t live where they surround us naturally), especially the smaller ones. The blues are so great — what are the specifics on the beautiful one that you have pictured here? So nice!

  3. Your photos are fantastic! What species is that?

    I bought a conifer book last year but haven’t planted any yet. Still trying to figure out how they might fit in with succulents…

    My short-but-sweet Wednesday Vignette is here: http://www.succulentsandmore.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-smart-plants.html.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Gerhard! I have a book on conifers too, but for some reason am still terribly intimidated. Sounds silly, but I find it hard to deduce the ultimate size of them. So many “dwarves” are still over 6′ tall and wide. That is still way too big for my little garden. Oh, and it’s a Picea pungens globosa.

  4. Kris P says:

    I’ve never been smitten by conifers either but I’m enamored with that one. You couldn’t have packed a better background for it than that rock mulch either. Here’s my Wednesday Vignette: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-golden-sunrise.html

  5. I grew up surrounded by conifers (Eastern Washington) and blamed those years for my dislike of all things conifer. Lately though I’ve discovered their beauty and, like you, I’m finding myself stopping to admire them, and even including a few in my garden. The one you’ve pictured is especially lovely (and the rock mulch so clean!!!). Now for something completely different (although there is a photobombing conifer!): http://www.thedangergarden.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-final-paws-of-season.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, they grow on you, don’t they? Sweden too, is full of pine and spruce, and they kind of tend to fade into the background – until one day you actually see them. Or, as the case may be – you see smaller versions of them on the other side of the world, and suddenly take note. I’m definitely considering myself smitten now…

  6. Peter/Outlaw says:

    We’re starting that special season during which the evergreens in our gardens really shine. There is something to be said for the stalwart and steady conifers that change a bit with the seasons but don’t require the care of perennials & deciduous plants.

  7. I’m totally smitten by conifers. I just don’t know enough about them. But I can say, they help me learn that “dwarf” doesn’t mean small. Lovely.

    • annamadeit says:

      Oh, ain’t THAT the truth! It most definitely does not mean “small”. When it says “dwarf” I always envision them small, and they are always far bigger than my idea of them. Kind of intimidating…

  8. I really like the contrast between the stones and the evergreen. Artful shot. I want to add more evergreens into my garden too.

  9. Jenni says:

    I’ve already been bitten by the conifer bug. I may have a few that need to be planted 😉 Might I suggest ‘dwarf’ varieties? They add a nice element without taking up too much space, nor growing out of hand quickly. I love the color of the conifer you have pictured! Here’s a link to my WV post: http://www.therainydaygardener.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-last-blooms.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Oh yes, Jenni – without a doubt, dwarf is the way to go. I am currently living down the shame of having planted one that is getting too big. It happened back in the days when I didn’t pay much heed to what the tag said. Live and learn…

  10. Elvis says:

    Love that gorgeous blue foliage! Like the others, I want to know what it’s called. My Wednesday vignette has a bit of blue in it, too, but I’m busy denying the season, while you are clearly embracing it: http://mulchmaid.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-hot-frost.html

  11. Pingback: Piet Oudolf Goes to Burger King | gardeninacity

  12. Love the blue color. I am not a big conifer fan, partly because few are native to this area. Plus Judy doesn’t like shrubs in general. Sometimes I’m tempted to try out a dwarf, though. Here’s my contribution for this week. https://gardeninacity.wordpress.com/2015/11/12/piet-oudolf-goes-to-burger-king/

    • annamadeit says:

      Contrary to where you are, our area is known for its conifers. Only trouble is that they are all HUGE! I too am very intrigued by the potential of the small ones. I just have to learn to tell the large from the small…

  13. Alison says:

    You’re right, that is a very pretty conifer. I love how blue it is. Many perennials claim to have a bluish tinge to their leaves, but seldom are they as truly blue as the blue in conifers. I did a WV post this morning, but failed to come here till now to give you a link. Here it is: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednseday-vignette.html

  14. Evan says:

    Great shots, Anna. I’ve liked dwarf conifers for as long as I can remember, probably because my father introduced me to bonsai from an early age. Even growing up surrounded by conifers, I still love them.

Leave a Reply

