November in the garden

It’s mid-month again, and with it, time for both Bloom Day and Foliage Follow-up day. As far as flowers go, looking around the garden, there is hardly anything you haven’t seen before. I guess that’s the benefit of plants that flower for months on end. Much of the foliage is far more exciting, as it is in full fall glory. So forgive me if this month, I’ll just snap some photos of whatever moves me – be it leaves or petals – and just group it all together into one post.

Fatsia japonica bud

Fatsia japonica bud

Fatsia japonica flower and bee

Yucca and spider web
IMG_6328Camellia 'Yuletide' flowerCamellia 'Yuletide' flowerCamellia 'Yuletide' stamensMelianthus majorMelianthus and rain drops
Edgeworthia budCanna 'Cleopatra' foliage

I never before realized that the veins in the Callicarpa leaves is purple - just like the berries!

I never before realized that the veins in the Callicarpa leaves is purple – just like the berries!

Such cute little heart-shaped Begonia flowers.

Such cute little heart-shaped Begonia flowers.

The red Fuchsia flowers matched by the 'Red Dragon' japanese maple.

The red Fuchsia flowers matched by the ‘Red Dragon’ japanese maple.

Fuchsia and grass

Perfect earrings. I could totally see Empress Josephine wearing something like this!

Perfect earrings. I could totally see Empress Josephine wearing something like this!

Coleus

Cotinus leavesIMG_6545IMG_6402

The leaves of a Bloodgood maple stuck to my little old truck. So very decorative!

The leaves of a Bloodgood maple stuck to my little old truck. So very decorative!

Ornithogalum in bud.

Ornithogalum in bud.

Here it is fully opened - with the added bonus of some windblown debris from a nearby conifer.

Here it is fully opened – with the added bonus of some windblown debris from a nearby conifer.

Starla rose

IMG_6487

IMG_6486

A very abused Canna 'Bengal Tiger' ...

A very abused Canna ‘Bengal Tiger’ …

... just might look like this the following year.

… just might look like this the following year.

My Grevillea 'Scarlet sprite'  is covered in buds. Very promising...

My Grevillea ‘Scarlet sprite’ is covered in buds. Very promising…

Anna's hummingbird

I think I need to start  using my settings manually, to catch these little rascals in action – they are way too fast for a clear photo.

ZauschneriaRain on Horned poppy
IMG_6533Fall is definitely here, and I have to say I love it! For more lovelies, visit May Dreams Garden and Digging.



About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Bloom Day, Foliage Follow Up and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to November in the garden

  1. Pauline says:

    Super images, you certainly found plenty to photograph! Autumn means that the garden goes out with a bang, you have so much beautiful foliage as well as flowers.

  2. I agree with Pauline that you found so many wonderful things to photograph. And always interesting at this time of year how I can easily tell you live in a very different gardening zone from me! Love that Fatsia and wish I could grow it.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks, Linda! It’s true that we have an extended growing season, but things are changing all over. My father who lives in Sweden told me they have the warmest, driest season he can remember. Things are indeed changing. Who knows what the future will bring…?

  3. Pam/Digging says:

    I love fall too, dreary drizzle and all. You have a lot of beautiful moments in your garden. Thanks for sharing, and happy fall!

  4. FlowerAlley says:

    Dreamy pics. A Hummingbird now? Is that normal out there? Mine are long-gone in NC.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks! Yes, they winter over here. A Fatsia is – or should be – a staple of any Hummingbird garden, because they flower so late. It tides them over into winter, until other long-blooming things start blooming. (Like the Camellias, Viburnums and Grevilleas). I put several feeders up too, and it’s a veritable war in the backyard. They are like little Star Wars X-wing bombers…

  5. I like your approach Anna, it certainly creates a stunning post.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Loree! I just get so tired of the same old photos again and again. I know it might not be perceived that way, but it certainly feels like it – especially this time of year.

  6. Alison says:

    This was a lovely mish-mash of flowers and foliage. Thanks for sharing what looks good out in your garden right now.

  7. rickii says:

    I am sated. Thank you!

  8. rindymae says:

    Your photos are always so gorgeous.

  9. Kris P says:

    All beautiful photos but I love the one of the chickadee best!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Kris! When I finally managed to get out there, clean the feeders, and put them back up again, it was a veritable invasion. Can’t wait to spend some more daylight time out there…

  10. We have cherry blossom!

  11. Evan says:

    Gorgeous photos, Anna! So much to love. I’ve been enjoying watching the hummingbirds at work. The Anna’s hummingbirds seem to skip over the area I grew up for their wintering grounds. I know they are up around Puget Sound, and south in Portland, but not where I am. Maybe if I get more fall and winter-blooming plants, they’ll stop by someday.

  12. Rose says:

    You take the most amazing photos, Anna! Love the little decorative touch of the leaves on your truck:) But my favorite has to be the hummingbird–ours left the area by the end of September, and I really miss them. But I know they must be happily sunning themselves right now in a much warmer place. Happy Bloom Day!

Leave a Reply

