Wednesday Vignette – Thankful

Maple lit by street lightTomorrow is Thanksgiving, so I suppose a little gratitude is in order. I’m generally happy and content. But when I really start thinking about it, the range of my fortune is almost a little embarrassing in its unfairness. In no particular order:

I’m thankful knowing that so far this year, I still have all my near and dear. Several friends  recently lost beloved family members – many brutally unexpectedly. My thoughts and love go out to them all as they face the emotional lows of the holiday-packed portion of the year without them.

I’m thankful that as opposed to the millions of people who have nowhere at all to call their “home”, I enjoy dual citizenships. Wish I could share it.

I’m thankful that I can buy a homeless person a meal here and there without breaking the bank.

I’m thankful that my kids still hug me, even though they are, by nearly all definitions, teenagers.

I’m thankful for friends and acquaintances whose insights and abilities to present data in a way I can understand, are also able and willing to present angles and perspectives that perhaps I hadn’t considered before.

I’m thankful I am reasonably free of phantom fears and other debilitating ailments when I assess the world around me.

Every day, I’m thankful that my husband not only  joins me in laughing at the warped comedy of life – he channels it. My own personal comedian.

I’m thankful for my work mates, who not only appreciate my strengths and tolerate my weaknesses, but also complement them. I’m also grateful that I can say that the reason I love my job as much as I do, is them.

I’m thankful that I can see beauty.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – Thankful

  1. NorthWalesTitchmarsh. (Malcolm) says:

    I do not usually respond to blogs but I just felt that what you said was so lovely warm and friendly that I had to comment. Those that are fortunate should be grateful for what they have and try to share.

  2. I am also thankful for you, Anna. You freely share not only your love of life and your work but you also gave me the opportunity to work in an environment that is healthy and full of snorts and giggles. And plants. xoxoxo Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. FlowerAlley says:

    I am thankful that you share the beauty you see. You are on of my treasured blogger friends. Have a lovely holiday.

  4. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Always important to stop and remember what we have to be thankful for! Beautiful image btw — it’s messing with my brain! My vignette: http://www.itsnotworkitsgardening.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-woodpile.html

    • annamadeit says:

      It was taken last night, on my way home from a district-wide school meeting. It reminded me that there is still beauty in the world, even if so many other parts of it is broken.

  5. Wonderful post Anna, very good things to be reminded of – we are lucky! I should have titled my W.V. post “I’m so thankful” rather than “I’m so lucky”…I wasn’t thinking of the holiday…
    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-how-lucky-i-am-to-be.html

  6. Alison says:

    You have lots to be thankful for. Me too! Here’s a link to my WV post: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette_25.html

  7. Gerhard Bock says:

    What a wonderful Thanksgiving message, Anna.

    Here’s my vignette: http://www.succulentsandmore.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-en-route-to.html. I’m grateful that California is finally getting a bit of precipitation.

  8. thankful to Alison Conliffe (Bonnie Lassie) for showing me how to get started with Wednesday Vignette on my blog (drama garden). thankful to Flutter & Hum for hosting. thankful i almost got a cup and saucer flower! http://prettyfyit.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette.html

  9. Elvis says:

    I’m so thankful to have you as a friend, Anna! Your post is a lovely reminder of how blessed we all are, even when life feels too difficult to bear. here’s my Wednesday post: http://mulchmaid.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-calm-before-holiday.html

  10. Luisa says:

    Terrific post, and a beautiful photo. You remind me that I have too many blessings to count. Happy Thanksgiving!
    http://crowandraven.blogspot.com/2015/11/the-good-bad-and-ugly-wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Luisa! It would probably do us all good to remember how fortunate we are more often than just once a year, but it’s so easy to take things for granted.

  11. Jenni says:

    Hi Anna,
    What a lovely post. Gratitude is an amazing experience. Happy Thanksgiving. Here’s my contribution http://www.therainydaygardener.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-first-freeze.html

  12. Evan says:

    Great photo and message, Anna. I’m thankful to know someone as full of life and humor as you. Here’s my WV post: http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette-highwire-highlights.html

  13. thankful to join in with other garden bloggers. thank you Anna. thank you Alison Conliffe for inviting me to the party. http://prettyfyit.blogspot.com/2015/11/wednesday-vignette.html

  14. Kris P says:

    I’m not sure which is more wonderful, Anna – your beautiful photo or the words that accompanied it. Thanks for hosting this lovely meme (even if I’m not posting this week). Best wishes for a happy Thanksgiving too!

  15. rusty duck says:

    Your photos are always an inspiration. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

