Wednesday Vignette – vintage va-voom!

Those who know me, know that cars don’t usually interest me much. I take a strict pragmatic approach to them, which is probably a bit strange since I normally notice and appreciate beautiful lines and sleek forms for just what they are – beautiful. But somehow, when it comes to cars, I tend to lump them together under the label of something that gets me where I need to go, and that deserves no real attention beyond that. Not sure why… I’d be the first to tell you that I would be a nightmare witness in a hit-and-run trial. “Can you tell us what kind of vehicle it was?”… “Um… it was a long, blue car…” Maybe it is the stress of traffic in itself, that dulls my senses? Who knows, but every once in a while, even I get snapped out of my usual vehicular lethargy. It’s the details and the sinuous curves that stand out:

IMG_7868

IMG_7869

True to form, if you asked me what kind of car this was, I really couldn’t tell you. I’m pretty sure I tried to imprint it in my brain when I saw it, because I thought it was so magnificently cool. But, since I can’t remember, I’d probably just say that it was a short, red, kinda sporty, vintage-y one. Truly, it was lovely. If I lived in an era when cars looked like this, perhaps I would know my car brands, and perhaps even worship the designers behind them. Cars back then had such pizzazz and elegance, and such fabulous individuality – truly gorgeous creations! I’m sorry, but so many cars nowadays are ubiquitously tame with their somewhat blobbed, indistinguishable shapes and mostly unexceptional, rather conventional detailing. I imagine this “sameness” has a lot to do with aerodynamics and the efficiency of production platforms, but how could I possibly pay attention when so many of them resemble some version of sneakers?

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – vintage va-voom!

  1. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Ah, so the meaning behind title “Flutter and Hum” is revealed: it’s all about cars! 😉 (or maybe just car engines?)

    I’m not really a car person either, but some of those vintage machines were such beauties!

    • annamadeit says:

      Yes, Alan – it is ALL about cars! … No seriously, my husband (who is one of those who can tell you what kind of motorcycle it is just by the sound) just peeked over my shoulder and told me the car I photographed is a Shelby Cobra. So I guess I should call it “Flutter & hiss & hum” 🙂

  2. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:
  3. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Cool details on this car! Like you, I couldn’t tell the difference between a Jaguar and a Gremlin but you’re right, some of those vintage cars are amazing! My WV offering is here: http://www.outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2015/12/wednesday-vignette.html

  4. Sherry says:

    Oh, I absolutely knew it was a Shelby Cobra, car of my dreams. If you’re going to get smitten by a car, then that’s the one to go for! You do have a “good eye”….incredible taste!

  5. I’ll take it! (but where would the plants go?)

    I’m a cheater pants this week, posting multiple images from my trip home for Thanksgiving. The intended vignette image is at the bottom of the post – some of my beloved spikes with my hometown in the background.
    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2015/12/wednesday-vignettes-chilly-holiday.html

  6. Alison says:

    My son used to call our current crop of cars “jelly beans.” I don’t notice cars either. The one in your photos has some lovely lines, but for me — that color! Ohh La la! My post this week is here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2015/12/wednesday-vignette.html

  7. hoov says:

    I never loved a car until I got an electric one. Looks are not everything with cars.
    Like Alison, I love that orange color, though! Ooooh la la is right.

    http://pieceofeden.blogspot.com/2015/12/wednesday-vignettes-from-san-diego.html

  8. that car belongs in danger garden’s driveway. a “summer rain” prius belongs in our driveway, which is unlikely to ever happen. i hope my husband gets his adorable miata first. someday. i wrote my second wed vignette! http://prettyfyit.blogspot.com/2015/12/behind-dumpster.html

  9. Sherry says:

    Oh, no…you have to go with Cobra Blue..white racing stripe….

  10. Kris P says:

    Mostly, I just notice the color of cars and even then I only really process the ones in “pretty” colors. I’m amazed that your husband could identify the car with only those 2 photos. Here’s my Wednesday Vignette, a little late: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2015/12/wednesday-vignette-visitors-piercing.html

    • annamadeit says:

      He never ceases to impress me. I’m always stunned when he pulls one of his motorcycle tricks. He hears not just which brand, but often also which model. Amazing… To me, it’s just noise.

  11. Evan says:

    I’m not a car person either. Every once in a great while, I used to appreciate the design of one, and when I was little I had the typical little boy toy cars. Nowadays, I usually hate seeing such cars, because they are frequently driven by rude idiots, speeding in a futile attempt to escape their midlife crises. But I turn into a foul-mouthed old curmudgeon behind the wheel, so there might be some bias. I tried a little experiment that I’m sharing for my vignette this week: http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2015/12/wednesday-vignette-in-moonlight.html

Leave a Reply

