Wednesday Vignette – snuck up on me!

Can’t believe I almost missed my own meme… Oh well, that’s what too many days off will do to me – I get my days all jumbled up! I could have sworn today was Tuesday!

In haste, I will remedy this faux-pas with a photo that was taken almost exactly one year ago. It is a shot of a spent Fatsia flower, and was taken with one of my favorite gifts ever, and one that keeps on giving – my camera. At the point of this lucky shot, I had happily owned it for exactly one week.

Fatsia in bud

Here is to another year of lucky shots! Happy New Year, All! 🙂

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – snuck up on me!

  1. Kris P says:

    The Fatsia flower is very appropriate – it looks like one of the fireworks that’ll soon fill the skies! Here’s my Wednesday Vignette: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2015/12/wednesday-vignette-random-year-end.html

  2. Evan says:

    I’ve been spending so much time researching to replace my lost camera that I almost didn’t have anything to show today. Even with my limited budget, there are so many cameras to choose from! I need to hurry up and decide. Not having an actual camera makes blogging a tad difficult. Luckily, this morning was beautiful and my phone managed to capture a decent shot at work. http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2015/12/sunshine-and-blue-skies-return-to-pnw.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Aww… I was hoping you would have found it by now. My family pieced one together for me when I dropped and broke mine at the Portland Garden Blogger’s Fling. My stepdad sent me the lens, and my husband and the kids bought the body. I was pretty much without a camera for half a year, and it sucked. I used my phone during that time, but it was hit and miss with a few good surprises here and there. I hope you find your favorite soon, Evan.

  3. Alison says:

    Happy New Year, Anna! That is one lovely lucky shot. I wasn’t ready to participate this morning either. Time for a little break.

  4. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Happy New Year, Anna!

  5. rindymae says:

    Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

