Xera – only a few Miles away

Sometimes you just have to spend at least part of your day off doing something fun. (You know, as opposed to all that other stuff you have to do…) I felt I hadn’t seen my pal Laura in a while, so on a last-minute whim, I suggested we take a little field trip to Xera – one of our fave local nurseries. It was a beautiful day (meaning; it wasn’t raining).

IMG_7548

Orderly rows of greenhouses full of intriguing plants.

IMG_7549.jpg

This is where the magic happens. I love the starry-eyed biomorphic quality of the Propagation House.

IMG_7542

Hundreds and hundreds of seed trays…

IMG_7405

Here’s Greg, showing us the seeds he started a couple of months ago. The mesh-covered lid is to keep resident mice away from the salad bar.

IMG_7410

IMG_7442

IMG_7537

Moving up in the world! Here, Paul is transplanting the tiny seedlings into the larger plug trays. There are 72 plugs in each tray. To me, this would be a very Zen kind of job – one that you could lose yourself in. I could totally dig that.

IMG_7446

Paul’s Dachshund Miles, the Guardian of the Greenhouse, is eyeing us suspiciously.

IMG_7426

A lot of sniffing was needed to ensure that we were trustworthy…

IMG_7429

…and that we weren’t going to encroach too much on his territory.

IMG_7538

A real Adora-dog. Just look at that face!

IMG_7413

Greg showed us around. I’m starting to understand why it’s called a nursery – it really is like caring for massive numbers of tiny, leafy babies.

IMG_7422

IMG_7416

IMG_7434

Here is the misting bench. Greg told us that over the years, they have learned which cuttings do better in which conditions. I imagine that only a fraction of this can be learned in school, and that most of it has to be learned by experience – years and years of trial and error.

IMG_7433

IMG_7424

Just like regular babies in regular nurseries, all these babies have varying temperaments and dispositions.

IMG_7419

Meta-panax starts. Now, where could I put one of those…?

IMG_7412

Laura was full of good questions. I should have listened better, but I was too distracted with all the visual loveliness surrounding us.

IMG_7423.jpg

IMG_7539

Miles the Adora-dog, was of course also a major distractor. So irresistibly sweet…

IMG_7435

Hey! Where are you going?

IMG_7436

IMG_7545

We spotted some interesting houseplants. Hey – wait a minute… Houseplants???

IMG_7414

Yes, actually. Xera will be soon be offering a few select houseplants. How cool is that?

IMG_7544

My favorite of the houseplants was this Seussian creature. So cool… I really liked its octopus tentacles.

IMG_7547

To me, its curving forms echoed several other loop-di-loop things nearby. I enjoyed the curvaceous forms and sculptural juxtaposition of the watering hose and the electrical cord across the isle.

And that, my friends, concludes the Propagation House portion of our visit. The marvels we encountered outside will be the topic of another post. Stand by for more soon…

 

 

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Cool plants, Nursery industry and events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Xera – only a few Miles away

  1. Thanks for the fun last minute adventure! I love this post. Now I’m struggling with spring fever in January!

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, considering that I spent all of today in a windowless basement room on the OSU campus in Corvallis, our day in the sunshine yesterday brought nice memories! So glad you could come with me – even with the short notice!

  2. Alison says:

    Wow, you got to go to their propagation houses! So cool. Thanks for the inside look.

  3. Jenni says:

    This has gotten me excited to get out in the garden and start working! Wonderful post and thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Thank you for the tour! I would love to get out there soon. Hint hint….:) Those guys are the BEST!

    • annamadeit says:

      Sweet Tamara – you should go (and I’ll happily come with). After all, you are off until February, and you do have all this land you need to fill… 😉

  5. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Oh, the damage I could do with access to a greenhouse! I love seeing behind-the-scenes peeks at nursery life!

  6. After yesterdays relative warmth, sunshine, time in the garden and now this…yep…spring fever is brewing! Thanks for the fun tour…I have excellent memories of time spent walking through those greenhouses. Oh and I love your photo of the “starry-eyed biomorphic quality of the Propagation House”!

  7. annamadeit says:

    It does look like such a kind, warm, maternal incubator, doesn’t it? It’s the perfect building for raising little ones.

  8. lyart says:

    great post, thanks!

  9. Kris P says:

    Now that’s my kind of field trip!

  10. Peter/Outlaw says:

    So this is where the magic happens. How great that you got to experience it, especially that cute little Miles! Thanks for sharing this fab field trip with us!

Leave a Reply

