Wednesday Vignette – a break in the weather

Most of my stay here in this lovely part of Sweden has been enveloped in damp, wet fog, and long stretches of rainy days. The crisp, cold days I packed for, have been curiously absent, and, as you might have seen, whatever photos I have attempted have suffered for it. However, the other night, I got a lucky break, and we actually received a blanketing of beautiful snow over our little town. Ever since getting here, I have wanted to photograph the unusual old City Hall of Lidköping. In the 1600s, it was the hunting lodge for the statesman Magnus Gabriel de la Gardie, who was a favorite of Queen Kristina. Reportedly, despite his high-flying assignments and magnificent decorations, he was more of a peace loving character who only took up hunting out of necessity – when he became the guardian of the child king Karl XI. In those days, you just couldn’t raise a king without training him in the arts of weaponry, hunting and military strategy. Even with the rustling of armor, his francophile sense of grace and elegance was evident in the lines of his hunting lodge – which now graces the town center. City Hall has moved on, and it now houses the Bureau of Tourism, as well as a cafe.

IMG_8204

IMG_8205

IMG_8206

IMG_8208

 

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – a break in the weather

  1. rusty duck says:

    It looks such a pretty place, especially in the snow!

  2. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Beautiful building — glad you got the snow!

    My own vignette: http://www.itsnotworkitsgardening.com/2016/02/wednesday-vignette-kitchen-window-view.html

  3. That first image is a lot magical and a little spooky, So glad you got some snow, may there be more.

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/02/wednesday-vignette-youre-doing-what.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I’m hoping for clear roads for one more day. Had a contractor look at the kitchen design today – now we wait. Tomorrow, we’re heading up north to visit my dad. 🙂

  4. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Such a handsome structure with an interesting history. Beautifully photographed!

    My WV: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/02/wednesday-vignette.html

  5. Eve says:

    I love how the dusting of snow accentuates the unusual clipped corners of the “dome”. Viewing the photos in sequence gave me a delightful sensation of zooming into focus.

  6. What a fabulous building, evocative photographs and lovely background story. Magical.

  7. Kris P says:

    Your photos are almost surreal in their beauty, Anna! I hope you’re enjoying your trip despite the imperfect weather. I tacked my Wednesday Vignette to a longer post here: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/02/wide-shots-and-wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks, Kris! I’m having a fab time hanging out with my mom, and tomorrow we’re heading northeast to see my dad, and more dear friends. I’m loving every moment of it! 🙂

  8. rickii says:

    Such an interesting silhouette against the night sky. My vignette will be familiar to you: one of my favorite shots: http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/5219

  9. Evan says:

    Beautiful images, Anna. My eye was actually drawn to the building in the background, though. I love fog, though the rain would put a bit of a damper on the trip. My vignettes this week are of a repeat subject.

  10. Your pictures look like paintings with such a lovely mood. I hope that you get some drier weather. I can’t wait to see the rest of your photos.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Laura! You’re in for a study in mostly muted browns, grays, greens and yellows. The weather being what it was, many of my photos are awfully dreary… Still, it’s been a great trip, and I’ll be home soon! 🙂

  11. Pingback: Doors, portals, passages and gates of Sweden | The Creative Flux

Leave a Reply

