Wednesday Vignette – control

IMG_8251

There is something really powerful, yet peaceful, about this photo – last year’s field stubble, cut with impressive precision. If this image tells me anything, it is to try to stay on track – which is easier said than done. Jet lag has turned my brain to mush – at least temporarily. The photo was shot a couple of weeks ago, in Sweden.

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – control

  1. Powerful indeed Anna. Glad you’re home safe, mushy brain and all.

    My WV is the opposite of yours, not control but rather chaos.
    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/02/wednesday-vignette-reminder-of-lushness.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Mushy indeed. I had just unpacked, when I realized I had to pack again, to go to Seattle for the NWFGS. It was fun of course, but I’m still un-mushing. 🙂

  2. Kris P says:

    Welcome back, Anna! I hope we’ll see more photos from your trip when you’re rested and your head’s back in its time zone.

    • annamadeit says:

      Oh, you will… I tried to find you on FB before I left but couldn’t find you. 😦 I posted more photos there, but will probably put together my best ones in a blog post soon.

  3. It’s always touching to see a working field like this; reminds us how connected we are to the earth on whom we rely for food, water…our basic needs! Lovely field and great symmetry.
    I have just read an interesting book by an entomologist, The Fly Trap, Fredrik Sjoberg. It’s a personal memoir. Very good and funny. link: http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jun/14/fredrik-sjoberg-hoverflies-the-fly-trap

  4. hoov says:

    A really beautiful photo. Now, get some more rest!

  5. annamadeit says:

    Thanks – I will. I’m getting really tired of waking up at 4 am… 🙂

  6. FlowerAlley says:

    I couldn’t comment on “Cheap Thrill” from your post on my email, so I back-tracked. You and I should hang out. I would have been giggling, too.

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha – you know, I’m still all jet lagged and discombobulated. I posted WV last night, went to bed, and then – a few minutes later – realized it was Monday!!! So, I got up again, and deleted it. But yeah, it would be fun to hang out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

