Wednesday Vignette – dusk relief

Clematis - blue doubleAfter two heat record-breaking April days, I took a little walk in the garden to see if anything was worthy of photographing. Dusk is always such a relief when it follows a hot day. It’s like the entire surface of the planet lightens after an oppressive load has been lifted, and one can finally breathe again. To think that this is still just April, and that an entire, baking hot summer lies ahead is depressing. Seeing the cool blue of this Clematis soothed my soul, and cooled my angst – at least temporarily.

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – dusk relief

  1. Alison says:

    My WV post also mentions sunshine and heat, but it’s what we encountered on our recent trip to Disney World. I promise, we came back after the heat here started up, so you can’t blame me for bringing it back from Florida. My post is here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2016/04/wednesday-vignette_20.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha – I bet you just said that because you know that when I’m in one of my all-thorns-out, heat-induced moods, I’ll blame anything and everyone. Welcome back, Alison. Can’t wait to see you photos! 🙂

  2. A little scary. Here, we’ve had very little rain, for spring.

    • annamadeit says:

      I agree. It is very disconcerting when weather pattern are sporadically randomized, and when your reasonable expectations suddenly are as good as for any lottery.

  3. It really is crazy that it feels like July but it’s only April. You must be pleased with the cooler, wetter, forecast. Here’s my WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/04/wednesday-vignette-iris-cristata.html

  4. Peter/Outlaw says:

    I’m loving the heat but will be happy to see the return of precipitation later in the week. Dusk is a magical time in the garden, especially on hot days. You’ve captured the feeling beautifully. I can almost see a fairy flying by. My non garden related WV is here: http://www.outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/04/wednesday-vignette_20.html

  5. rickii says:

    I’d be tempted to make this image into a screen saver to cool down the scorching days ahead. Here’s my WV post + Foliage Follow-up: http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/5400

  6. Kris P says:

    That clematis does have a calming effect on the psyche. Our temperature fell today – to 86F – down from 91F earlier in the week. The Santa Ana winds continue to blow and our humidity is near zero but there’s a slight chance of rain Friday night. El Nino has been wrung out at far as SoCal is concerned so we’re in for a very, very dry summer and the current heatwave is an unwelcome precursor.

    • annamadeit says:

      Oh Kris – you so gently put it all in perspective and made me feel silly for being so whiny. I will be sending you all kinds of good rain karma for Friday…

  7. bergstromskan says:

    What is the name of that beautiful Clematis?? By the way, we have had over 80 for several days, but rain is on the way, and cooler temperatur.

Leave a Reply

