Wednesday Vignette – two-tone views

IMG_2720

This combo brightened my morning – a variegated Eryngium and Bouteloua ‘Blonde Ambition’. Its glimmering highlights and variegations nearly blinded me in the harsh sunlight. Another thing that brightened my day was people – for some reason I met some real gems today. In fact, the last meeting of the day was so delightful, that I spent the drive back to work wondering how I can possibly despise our collective humanity as much as I do, when some of them are so very, very nice. I eventually arrived at the oddball conclusion that just as I would love and enjoy a pet rat, I’d loathe a rat infestation. Humans are pretty much the same as rats then, I suppose. In individual social situations we often shine, but as a collective species, we’re planetary varmint – our presence presenting very bad news to most other living things. It might sound like a terrible thing to say, but it’s the only way I can explain my simultaneous aversion to the actions and priorities of my specie as a whole, while acknowledging my contradictory social attraction to so many individual members of it. Frankly, it is a lot more calming NOT thinking about it, as it is rather maddening!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – two-tone views

  1. A true dilemma, Anna

  2. Peter/Outlaw says:

    A great image. Your words really hit home! Planetary vermin – so true. We’re an awful species yet capable of amazing individual acts of beauty, love, and compassion. My WV is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/06/wednesday-vignette-just-beneath-surface.html#comment-form

  3. I haven’t grown Eryngium in years but I’ve found myself attracted to it of late and I love that ‘Blonde Ambition’ grass. The combination is wonderful. Like some people, these plants bring out the best in one another. Here’s my Wednesday Vignette: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/06/weather-and-wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks, Kris! It’s a combo I’m using in a project that just got planted this week. So far, I’m happy with it – especially when the sun hits it just so…

  4. As always I find myself nodding as I’m reading your words…well said. My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/06/wednesday-vignette-echium-dont-care.html

  5. hb says:

    We’re the worst invasive species, sigh, and we bring other invasive species along for the ride. Yet as Peter/Outlaw said, capable of amazing things. It’s a lovely photo in the blazing light–I thought you didn’t have that up there? Obviously you do!

    My vignette is office-park Anigozanthos. Amazing plants in the most unexpected place.

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, I’m afraid I’ll never be able to completely wrap my head around those contradictory truths… And yes – can you believe it – we DO have sun! Sometimes. 🙂

  6. How fond I am of ‘Blonde Ambition’ , it’s almost as cute as Briza media. My WV today ..http://gardenbook-ks.blogspot.com/2016/06/wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I’d say that’s almost a toss-up, Kathy – Briza media is another fave for me too. Love them both intensely. For some reason, I haven’t seen Briza sold much anywhere in the past couple of years. Wonder why…? It is SO deserving of the same kind of attention Blonde is getting. At least I think so.

  7. Alison says:

    That is a very nice combo! I planted a bunch of Blonde Ambition last year, but they are all looking very dead so far. I’m bummed. I posted a vignette today, it’s here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2016/06/wednesday-vignette-procrastination-pays.html

  8. Christina says:

    I think I’d agree with that too. Nice image.

Leave a Reply

