Wednesday Vignette – the silver lining

Big news today! Our District’s school superintendent turned in her resignation! People outside of PPS may not know this, but for all intents and purposes – this is terrific news! Of course, nobody knows yet who will follow, but it is the sincere hope of many, many people that it will be someone with actual leadership skills. Fingers crossed!

So, how does one celebrate/illustrate this news? Honestly, I have no idea. I’m going for warm and fuzzy, as it is a feeling that stands out. It is warm and fuzzy, because there is a glimmer of hope in the unknown that lies ahead. Of course it can turn out to be a disaster, but I’m going to go for a spoonful of hope, until proven otherwise. Like corduroy, it is all in the direction of the fibers. The hairy leaves of a Tibouchina grandifolia look completely different depending on which angle you view them from. For the sake of the future kids of Portland, let’s hope the future holds a silver lining. Change is good, and in this case, it can’t come soon enough!

IMG_0656

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – the silver lining

  1. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Change can be refreshing and wonderful sometimes. I hope this change works out well for everyone. My WV post is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/06/wednesday-vignette-youth-and-age.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks, Peter! I don’t have a lot of faith in the way things are done here, but I’m still hopeful. At this point, any change beats the deadening inaction of status quo.

  2. Alison says:

    Not being from Portland, I have no idea what this news means, but I hope it works out for the best! I remember seeing Tibouchina in a few gardens last year, as well as for sale, and being intrigued. Then I saw huge shrubs in the ground this past spring in Florida. I could overwinter it in the greenhouse I suppose, but I am kind of paring things down in there. Here’s a link to my WV post: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2016/06/wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks, Alison – hope so too. Yeah, the temptations out there are truly endless. I have a hard enough time without a greenhouse. I commend you for at least trying to resist! 🙂

  3. But how do you really feel? 😉 I read the news this morning and wondered if this was a good thing. I’m sorry but I’m completely clueless other than to know that our schools here generally suck. Here’s hoping for that silver!

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/06/wednesday-vignette-aeonium-challenge.html

    • annamadeit says:

      From my vantage point, getting rid of highly ineffective bureaucrats is always a good thing, regardless of the relative uncertainty of future improvements. Good riddens, I say!

  4. Oh dear. I do hope it will bring positive change into the community. Thanks for hosting. https://plantpostings.blogspot.com/2016/06/a-wednesday-vignette-to-celebrate-summer.html

  5. I hope your wishes are realized, Anna. My Wednesday Vignette is tucked into my post on the aftermath of our recent heatwave as my own silver lining: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/06/heatwave-aftermath-wednesday-vignette.html

  6. I’m crossing my fingers that everything turns out great. We have a new principal at the school where I volunteer and she has made such a huge difference.
    Here is my WV: http://www.gravylessons.com/journal2/2016/6/22/wednesday-vignette-in-process

    • annamadeit says:

      Great principals make a HUGE difference. I think WA has that thing down so much better than we do here. Here in PDX, crappy principals get promoted to central office, or the ODE.

  7. Jenni says:

    I am very hopeful for fresh vision and an overall culture change for PPS! Here is my WV post 🙂 http://www.therainydaygardener.com/2016/06/wednesday-vignette-62216.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I don’t know, Jenni… I vacillate between hope and despair. It’s like they do this dance where they take one step forward, followed by one larger step back. The culture change you mentioned is HUGE – nothing will really happen without it. I saw an excerpt from PPS Superintendent Selection Criteria from 2007, listing the most pressing concerns and needs. That list could have been written yesterday. It is tragic – the same issues remain, and have only gotten worse. Fingers and toes crossed that this will develop in a better direction!

  8. Hooray! I hope the new superintendent brings true leadership and wisdom to the position.

    • annamadeit says:

      Amen to that, Tammy! Except the school board approved that the existing one remains through June of 2017, “to fulfill the 10-year commitment”. Yup, 10 years of status quo. The only glimmer of hope is that another year will allow for a deeper search for suitable candidates.

  9. Evan says:

    Here’s hoping someone more effective comes in to replace them. I know nothing of what’s going on, but I’m happy that you’re happy! Here’s my post this week: http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2016/06/wednesday-vignette.html

Leave a Reply

