Wednesday Vignette – let there be light

Is it just me, or did it feel like the past few weeks were just a long sequence of utter devastation? Starting with the bloodbath in Orlando – from there, it seemed to just snowball. Wherever you looked, there was trauma, tragedy and pain – here on the home turf, as well as around the globe.

Someone (I think it might have been another blogger) wrote that she’d spent a lot of time out with her ferns, of late. When I read that, I knew exactly what she meant. Being enveloped in the soothing, cooling green of a garden, restores ones tattered senses and repairs a shredded soul. I am so privileged to have even a small garden, in which to hide from the violence of the world. I’ve spent a lot of time out there lately, chomping away at one project after the other. One night, I was playing with lighting, and managed to get this photo.

Manihot

Somehow it sums up exactly what I want to do, moving forward. I want to point my light onto what is beautiful in the world. Too many lights are highlighting the greedy, the ignorant and incompetent, the disturbed, the bizarre. (Yes, I’m talking to you too, RNC.) Instead, I would like the light to flood the already bright, the enchanted, the generous, the compassionate, and the kind. I’m not proposing that the ills of the world will go away if we ignore them – au contraire! I’m thinking if  instead we allow the good to outshine the bad, maybe – just maybe, at some point – it will push back the wave of darkness currently sweeping the world, and we can breath a little easier. Let there be light!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – let there be light

    • annamadeit says:

      Doesn’t it seem like all the violent reports just breed MORE violence? Copycat crimes, false entitlements (like Brexit) and fear (some real, but mostly imagined)? I honestly think media just make it worse…

  1. Mark and Gaz says:

    Strange times all over the world at the moment…

    Wish we grow manihot here, somehow it doesn’t do well in our garden. At least we have the ferns…

  2. FlowerAlley says:

    Well done…As usual.

  3. Alison says:

    I certainly hope the light will outshine the darkness in the world! I put together a WV post this week. It’s here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2016/07/wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, me too. I also hope media takes a stance to abolish all the hysteria surrounding all these horrific events. It’s like they thrive on regurgitation – over and over and over again.

  4. annamadeit says:

    You and me both, Alison!

  5. Well said, and excellent photo

  6. I’ve been feeling much as the same and made oblique reference to that in my last IAVOM post but I agree that we do need a vibrant counterpoint to the soul-deadening events and discourse currently dominating the news. Thanks for shing your own light! My WV post focused on pretty stuff: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/07/wednesday-vignette-dahlias.html

  7. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    If by “let there be light” you mean “let people think” (like a lightbulb over their head) then I agree!!

  8. Amen, Anna. I think the same. Hard to ignore all of it, you basically have to shut off the t.v. (which I should do anyhow) but to see the light in this world is to be a part of it, truly. Shine on, Oh Sparkly One xoxoxo

  9. hb says:

    You post lets a little in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

