Wednesday Vignette – so very pettable…

If there is one thing I regret this time of year, it is that I don’t have enough sun in my garden to make all those wonderful grasses happy. On the other hand, I love hanging out in the cool, luxurious shade I have so much of, and hide from the Death Star when it pummels the world with its rays. I think I will always opt for shade if given the option, but it sure would be nice to be able to look out from my protected perch, onto a sunny scene of soft, graceful grasses, contrasted with dramatic, spiky, architectural plants. Maybe in my next garden I can make that happen. For now, I’ll just admire their sun-drenched softness wherever I can.

This is Pennisetum purpureum (Purple fountain grass) - an annual in these parts, but still... Isn't it delicious?

This is Pennisetum purpureum (Purple fountain grass) – an annual in these parts, but still… Isn’t it delicious? The flowers are so very pettable!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – so very pettable…

  1. Peter/Outlaw says:

    So soft and pretty!

  2. The grasses are at their best this time of year here too. You’ve captured their unique beauty perfectly, Anna! I didn’t do as well in capturing my image this week but, the heck with it, I posted it anyway! Here it is: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/08/wednesday-vignette-full-moon-in-morning.html

  3. It’s been years since I planted that grass but your photo has me remembering it fondly. My WV on the other hand, it makes me want to run away:
    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/08/wednesday-vignette-poison-much.html

    • annamadeit says:

      It’s a pretty one, isn’t it? For some reason, I can’t view the photos of your WV. One of those WP/Blogger issues, I guess. Bummer, but will try to look again later. 😦

  4. Tina says:

    Lovely photo! I like this plant–it’a gorgeous, but it’s not reliably winter hardy here and it’s too thirsty for me to include.

  5. Pingback: Wednesday vignette – A Moveable Garden

  6. mmwm says:

    So soft, and the colour variations so subtle and yet striking. My vignette is here: https://amoveablegarden.wordpress.com/2016/08/24/wednesday-vignette-6/

  7. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Purple fountain grass is one of my favorites — I have it in several spots in the garden. Looks great when not flattened by rain. What hooked me on it was the mass planting I saw in southern CA years ago: so amazing in a large grouping! My WV:
    http://www.itsnotworkitsgardening.com/2016/08/wednesday-vignette-texture.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I imagine it’s probably perennial in CA, wouldn’t you think? And likely rarely flattened by rain… I suppose that part would be part of whatever silver lining one might find during drought conditions.

      • hb says:

        Yes the same clump will live for years, and even survive extreme drought. It’s cut to the ground during the rainy season, so no flattening. It’s a lovely plant and thankfully sterile, so not invasive unlike other in that genus here.

        Your photo captures its silky quality so well.

        • annamadeit says:

          Thanks HB – good to know about the drought tolerance. I guess as long as it doesn’t survive the winter here, I can still consider us Zone 8. Had a bunch of other “annuals” survive the past two winters. Which kind of creeps me out…

Leave a Reply

