Wednesday Vignette – a new deal

Staggering changes at work this past week. Into the norm of relative, quiet predictability, was thrown a major disruption.  It made home life seem like the only real stability – which of course, is always a thing to be grateful for – even when all aspects of life around you seem perfectly balanced as well.  The week’s collective calamities were as sudden and unexpected as this swimmer running past my lens at a recent swim meet. She dominates the photo, just like the notion of pending doom has taken over our emotions this week. Nothing like a little panic to make you appreciate the daily doldrums… right?

As interruptions go, I like the one in the photo much better – it made for a pretty cool shot! As for the real life one, I currently have a hard time finding the silver lining. I like to think there is a meaning with it all… I suppose time will tell. If anything, the positive hidden in this mess, is very likely a nudge. The time has come to move on.

IMG_1263

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – a new deal

  1. Cath says:

    Sorry to hear that – panic is never fun. It’s good that there is a positive though. I read a book about meditation while on holiday, and it seemed like it might be a good way to put panic into perspective. However it’s easy to plan these things while not panicking on holiday.

    • annamadeit says:

      A little meditation never hurts, I imagine. A lot of times, situations like this is the Universe’s way of trying to tell you something. What bothers me the most is seeing the – to me – premature scattering of a wonderful team. I will miss them all!

  2. bergstromskan says:

    Amazing picture for the situation Anna. And you seeing a continuation in the midst of the chaos. All power to you.

  3. Cath says:

    It is an amazing picture, perfectly represents moving on. Here is mine: https://absentgardener.com/2016/08/31/wednesday-vignette-morning-sun-in-saigon/

  4. FlowerAlley says:

    Whoa. Don’t make me worry. I hope you can return to equilibrium. Take care friend.

  5. Laurin Lindsey says:

    Hoping things settle down! Interesting photograph.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks, Laurin! It will eventually settle down, but with so many good people gone, it feels like the damp cloth of doom is covering our place. And, to expect the same standards with no people is simply ludicrous. The owner deserves everything coming his way.

  6. Oh, Anna Bean – I hope it all ends up all right – I’m thinking of you all 🙂 xoox

  7. Evan says:

    Ok, you’ve got me a little worried, but I know you’ll make the best of it. I can guess a little from what you’ve said and some of the comments. I hope things settle down quickly and peacefully, and you find that silver lining. Change is on my mind this week, too. There are more serious changes going on, but I chose to focus mostly on the garden. http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2016/08/wednesday-vignette-progress-and-change.html

    • annamadeit says:

      A garden is a nice thing to focus on, for sure – it puts things in its proper perspective. You know, where change is allowed to evolve at the time it requires…

  8. Alison says:

    Oh No! I hope your work life settles down. You’ve been so happy there, with so many fun co-workers. Great photo!

  9. I read a FB post the other day from the famous guy which had me worried. Damn. I am sorry Anna, you all deserve better.

    My (just for fun) WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/08/wednesday-vignette-who-needs-boxwood.html

    • annamadeit says:

      We do, don’t we? This whole thing is beyond maddening, and just goes to prove that there is no arguing with neither the stupid, nor the arrogant. Sigh… My bet is that a year from now, there will be condos being constructed where the greenhouses once were…

  10. We live in a large world, no doubt about that!

  11. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Sometimes even forced change ends up being for the best…

  12. Peter/Outlaw says:

    So sorry Anna, that really sucks! I hope things turn aroung for you.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks, Peter – because I can fall back on my OV work, I’m in far better shape than several of the others… My heart goes out to all of them. Scrambling to stay afloat really stinks!

  13. Sometimes it takes a long time to find the silver lining and despite being an optimist, I’m too much of a realist to be convinced every situation has one. But you’re tough and talented and will persevere. Hang in there!

    • annamadeit says:

      I think I have a little of that somber realism in me too, Tammy. In this case, I think one has to look outside the situation for the silver, which – at this point – I’m prepared to do. Thanks for the confidence – right now I feel neither tough or talented. At least not with our collective hands tied behind our backs.

  14. Kris P says:

    I can only guess at what’s going on, Anna, but having gone through mergers, acquisitions, restructuring, downsizing and other calamities characteristic of the corporate world, I can make some educated guesses. Sometimes the best you can do is to hold on tight until the waves diminish, the horns stop blaring, and you can think clearly. I’m sending a hug your way. My WV was selected with you in mind: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/08/wednesday-vignette-pools-of-light.html

  15. rickii says:

    A reminder to enjoy the moment, because things can change in an instant. Sorry that this moment is not so enjoyable.

  16. hb says:

    Sorry to hear of disruption. A lot of that going around these days. Best wishes in the hope things will settle and your comrades affected find good places.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Hoov – I appreciate that! It’s such a mess, I think the best approach is probably to laugh, enjoy the memories, and move on… I worry about all of us.

Leave a Reply

