Bloom Day – September 2016

Every month, on the 15th, Carol over at May Dreams Gardens hosts an international flower fest. This month, Bloom Day caught me unawares, but I managed to go out there and snap some pictures. There isn’t a whole lot that you haven’t seen before, but here goes:

Plumbago flowers

Bluer than blue – the Plumbago ground cover shows its pretty blue flowers.

Miscanthus zebrinus

Miscanthus zebrinus is blooming…

Hakonechloa in bloom

… as is the Hakonechloa.

Euphorbia millii

Euphorbia millii – Crown of Thorns – has such a pretty red color.

Sambucus nigra 'Black lace' berries

Not exactly flowers, but still… The berries of Sambucus nigra ‘Black lace’ are highly decorative this time of year.

Liriope 'Royal Purple'

Love the dark stems of Liriope ‘Royal Purple’. The corky bark of a dwarf Elm in the background.

Abutilon

A lovely red Abutilon just blooms and blooms.

Canna 'Cleopatra'

Canna ‘Cleopatra’ keeps sending them up. I still like the foliage better than the flowers. Sunburnt, moisture-starved bamboo in the background. I think I’m going to take it out this winter – it is never happy, or watered enough.

Dark Sedum

A pretty dark Sedum I forget the name of. It is being usurped by a Himalayan blackberry that has its roots protected by a fence. I keep cutting it back, it keeps returning.

Mandevilla

A rescue Mandevilla rewards me with a bloom or two. Funny – I thought it would be red. Instead, it turned out to be pink.

img_3912

I’m slowly learning to not write off entire genus of plants, as I find that as soon as I do, I find one that I like. This is one of those cases – a Petunia I fell for this spring. Is it ‘Cafe au Lait’? ‘Cappuccino’? Don’t remember exactly, other than its name has something to do with coffee.

Hydrangea 'Little Lime' fall flower color.

The one and only Hydrangea left in my garden – ‘Little Lime’. The green flowers are now fading to pink.

img_3915

I have NO idea what this is. I think it’s a weed, except I really like it! Ideas any one – should I take it out?

Clematis durandii

Clematis durandii. Such a pretty Clematis! It suffered for too long in a nursery pot, but is now rewarding me for its release.

Verbena bonariensis 'Lollipop'.

Can’t get over the fabulous colors of Verbena bonariensis ‘Lollipop’. Just wow…

Zauschneria

Can’t remember exactly which Zauschneria this is, but I love its silvery leaves.

Rosa 'Hot cocoa'

Rosa ‘Hot cocoa’ showing of its color transition.

Rosa 'Hot cocoa' bud

You can really see how close to black parts of it can get, when you look at its buds.

Fuchsia magellanica

A true flowering work horse – Fuchsia magellanica. When people ask you for something that blooms for a long, long, long time – this is a good answer.

Eryngium

This potted, dwarfed little Eryngium made me smile. Poor thing – next year, I WILL give it a home in the ground.

Heather

One of those pretty Heathers that I always fall for, this time of year.

Gary elliptica 'James Roof'

A promise of things to come – Garrya elliptica ‘James Roof’. Come winter, I will know why this native shrub is commonly called Silver tassel bush. πŸ™‚

Zauschneria

Another Zauschneria. This one is a lot taller and has thready leaves.

Bronze Fennel seed heads

These are so pretty, but I’d better cut them back before they go to seed – Bronze Fennel.

Aster lateriflorus 'Prince'

My Calico Aster is covered in tiny blossoms.

img_3935

More Asters to come – pretty, puffy, purple ones, that I thought were annuals, have come back for several years now.

Oreganum 'Kent's beauty'

Even the unplanted is producing flowers. Here is pretty Oreganum ‘Kent’s beauty’

Lobelia cardinalis

Lastly – returned from the near dead. A rescued Lobelia cardinalis has the most lovely bud. This one deserves another chance at life!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Bloom Day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Bloom Day – September 2016

  1. Pauline says:

    Is your mystery plant some sort of Persicaria? You have such a lot of beautiful blooms, it’s hard to believe that autumn is just round the corner.

    • annamadeit says:

      Hmm… maybe – that’s a good suggestion. I don’t remember planting one, but that doesn’t mean anything. We had a comparatively nice summer, but I always like the crisp days of fall too. πŸ™‚

  2. Gorgeous photos, Anna Bean as always. Yes, I was thinking Persicaria too….and your clematis is such a great color. And Fuchsia magellanica…I just bought ‘Alba’ – hoping it does well, too. Thanks for the pix!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks, T! I think I’d better yank that Persicaria out… I bet your Alba will reward you manyfold! I have a new fuchsia crush – it is called Delta Sarah. Completely, absolutely stunning. Don’t think it’s a magellanica, though, but still worth looking for. If it is, I’ll be even more anxious to get it – love those things! πŸ™‚

  3. Rose says:

    I am so envious of your fuschia! I think you have the perfect conditions for it, but I can’t seem to get it to flourish here, even in shady containers. Your mystery weed is indeed a Persicaria, and I would pull it immediately! It’s what we call a “smartweed” here, and it will take over if you let it. In fact, the first time I saw a pretty Persicaria, I was aghast, because the only one I was familiar with was this weedy variety that I used to pull out of my Dad’s fields:) So many lovely blooms!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Rose! I knew there was a good reason I didn’t know what it was… Will pull it tonight when I get home. Maybe if you plant your fuchsia in the ground, it would thrive? I’ve heard that they should be planted deeply for best result – like tomatoes. If you do that, and mulch in the winter, I bet they would come back. I have a friend in Sweden who grew her fuchsias outdoors, and they survived. I was amazed!!!

  4. Lots to love here Anna! And of course, like every bloomday, I find myself wondering why I haven’t yet seen your garden! (now I’m off to see if I’ve got berries on my Sambucus nigra)

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha – little by little, it is morphing into something a little more presentable. Yesterday, I worked on my parking strip, for which I built a bunch of those metal containers. You would be proud of me – in one of them I planted a Frosty blue Agave!!! So excited! πŸ™‚

  5. Evan says:

    Lots of great blooms, Anna! I love the blue flowers of plumbago, yet I always seem to leave it behind at the nursery. It makes no sense! I think I need to change that. The first Zauschneria is a cultivar of septentrionalis, but I don’t know which one. I’m amazed your heather is still in bud. All of mine are long past blooming and are forming their silvery seed capsules. And the number of flowers on that fuchsia is amazing!

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha – the heather is in bud because I just bought it. It lucked out and got planted relatively soon after I brought it home. Thanks for the Zauschneria ID – I know I saved the tags for all of them, but didn’t want to spend the time looking for them. One of these days I WILL be more organized with that sort of thing… As for the Plumbago – I will be happy to bring you some for the Swap, if you like. πŸ™‚

  6. Tina says:

    You snapped some real beauties. Too tender for me to grow, with the exception of the leadwort plumbago and the liriope. Gorgeous photos!!

  7. Kris P says:

    Is that clematis really as blue as it looks in your photo? It’s incredible! I put in a Garrya ‘James Roof’ this year too. Your photo sent me out to see if there are any signs of incipient tassels on my plant but I found nada. In any case, I’m still gratified that it’s at least made it through the summer.

    • annamadeit says:

      It’s not quite as dark as the photo shows, unfortunately. A truer depiction would show dark, but somewhat more toward purple. The light is playing some tricks on us, I believe. Anyway, it tends to open up dark, and then fade to more midrange hues. I really like this one! My Garrya is young too. I have it in a large pot for now, waiting for it to fill out a little. And, to tell the truth, still trying to decide on the perfect spot for it. Glad to hear yours made it through the horrendous heat. I’m sure the tassels will emerge eventually. Such a stunning plant – I can’t wait for it to grow up! πŸ™‚

  8. igrowhort says:

    A beautiful collection of late Summer flowers makes me wish for Spring all over again, although Im sure most gardeners would agree a period of dormancy is required for plants and keen garden folk alike. Looking forward to next months flowers and foliage.

    • annamadeit says:

      Although I love the change in temperatures, I always have that feeling of defeat; I didn’t get everything I wanted done this year either. Sigh… But yeah, the break is both nice and needed. πŸ™‚

  9. linda says:

    I just planted that Garrya . I can’t wait for it to grow and fill in the gap along my fence line !
    And that Petunia !

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, me too. Glad to hear you have one too – it is such a fantastic plant! I should have planted one ages ago. I hear they take a while. (Admit to feeling somewhat impatient…)

  10. rusty duck says:

    I’ve been looking for the Calico aster for a while. Thanks for putting a name to it!

  11. rickii says:

    What a cornucopia of loveliness.

Leave a Reply

