Wednesday Vignette – fall flavors

Two independent photos for you today – both signs of our pending descent into Autumn. There is something about fall color – somewhat muted, and absolutely sublime. These two jumped out at me today

Hypoxia hemerocallida seed heads

Hypoxia hemerocallidea seed heads against the case of my lap top. I found the golden, somewhat hairy stalks fading into the dark, funnel shaped seed heads, beautiful. This is a really interesting plant, with powerful, medicinal properties. Among other things, it is used to boost the immune system in HIV patients. Read more about it here.

Normally a beautiful, cool bluish green, Little bluestem grass blows me away when the weather cools, and its colors turn. The exquisite coloring of this grass brings me joy on a daily basis, this time of year. Wish I had room for drifts of it...

Normally a beautiful, cool bluish green, Little bluestem grass (Schizachyrium scoparium)  blows me away when the weather cools, and its colors turn. The exquisite fall coloring of this grass brings me joy on a daily basis, this time of year. Wish I had room for large, voluptuous drifts of it…

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – fall flavors

  1. Chloris says:

    I particularly like that grass, gorgeous colours.

  2. rusty duck says:

    It is a beautiful grass. Off to see if I can find it here…

  3. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Love that grass. Note that not all cultivars are so blue, but even the straight species has a surprisingly bright orange color as it goes dormant. Love it!
    My vignette: http://www.itsnotworkitsgardening.com/2016/09/wednesday-vignette-lucky.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, this particular one is ‘Standing ovation’ which is a little more upright than another favorite cultivar ‘The Blues’. I don’t think one can go wrong with whichever one – straight or cultivated. The fluffy flowers are nice too.

  4. Peter Herpst says:

    I’ve been admiring Little bluestem in Alison’s garden but don’t have any myself. Now, where could I find space… Beautiful colors. Hypoxia hemerocallidea is new to me and a very interesting plant with fabulous slithery stems. My vignette is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/09/wednesday-vignette_28.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I know your problem well… Not only do I not have space, but I’m dreadfully short on sunny space. My solution was another planter which could potentially be dragged out into a sunny spot, but hell – I don’t really have the ideal space for that either. Never stopped me before, though. 🙂 Hooray for cramscaping!!!

  5. hb says:

    I had ‘The Blues’ for a while. Incredibly tough little plant–unfortunately never cold enough here to turn colors in the fall like your beauty. Removed in an area rework.

    The gold-grey against violet in the other photo–beautiful!

    My vignette this week is a posed portrait. The subject happened to cooperate:
    https://pieceofeden.blogspot.com/2016/09/wednesday-vignette-september-27-2016.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Too bad that it didn’t perform for you. I figured out that it looks great with a Blue Boy Yuccas – which I imagine would do great where you are. Having fun creating a planter around it right now. 🙂

  6. annamadeit says:

    Sorry it didn’t perform for you… I found it’s a fantastic companion to Yucca ‘Blue boy’, which I bet would go gangbusters where you are. Now, if only I had that much sun…

  7. I bought a beautiful pot of Schizachyrium scoparium just last weekend. I am trying to figure out where to put it…

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/09/wednesday-vignette-agave.html

  8. Kris P says:

    You have a really flashy laptop cover! I love the bluestem grass, which I’ve always assumed didn’t grow here as I’ve never seen it in any of our local garden centers. I was surprised to find that my Sunset garden guide says it will grow in my zone so now the hunt is on! I tucked a WV into another post today: http://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/09/the-heat-is-on.html

    • annamadeit says:

      It’s awfully pretty, but according to Hoover’s comment, it doesn’t get cold enough down where you are for it to color up this way. Still, worth a try – it’s a nice grass in its blue-green state, and has really cute flowers, too. 🙂

  9. Jenn B says:

    OMG you captured the color of the grass perfectly!!! I’ve been trying to get a photo of mine for weeks now with no luck getting the awesomeness of it. Well done!👏🏼

Leave a Reply

