Wednesday Vignette – in the mind’s eye

As recently as today, a dear co-worker told me he thinks I’m as bat-shit crazy as they come. This assessment was delivered with a smile and, quite honestly – coming from him – I took it as a compliment. I’m glad my brain is able to forge connections – however far-fetched – where others might see nothing out of the ordinary. In childhood, I had plenty of time to lay on my back, stare at the clouds, and let my imagination tell me what I saw. So – don’t judge me – this one will probably be perceived as rather silly, but when I saw it, I thought it was rather marvelous.

img_4315

The random spattering from our baked chicken dinner the other night created a rather desolate looking, stark, fire ravaged forest landscape on the walls of the baking dish. There is something almost calligraphic about the contorted lines and shapes. Not sure why I thought it was so special, but I did. And certainly, quirky enough to be shared as this week’s vignette.

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – in the mind’s eye

  1. Paul Nash would have agreed

  2. FlowerAlley says:

    This, crazy woman, is why you are part of my “e-tribe.” It does look like a desolate landscape. I am so glad I will not be the one cleaning it.

  3. Lita Sollisch says:

    We should start a club. The Bat-Shit Crazy Lady Club. I see faces in trees, tiles on the bathroom floor. You get the idea. I’m first in line.

  4. Dawn Pope says:

    I get it and I’m in! (TB-SCLC!)
    Living in So Cal we frequently see this type of landscape throughout our pour scorched land. Your baking dish rendering is very accurate! of a burnt manzanita bush!

    • annamadeit says:

      Welcome to our club! It would be a whole other thing seeing this in real life – a view conveying tragedy and fear of the future. I much prefer the baking dish art work!

  5. Kris P says:

    As someone who sees faces in the stone in the shower, I can relate! My WV references what could be a change in direction for me and my garden: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2016/10/wednesday-vignette-end-to-sad-saga.html

  6. Alison says:

    Well, if seeing beauty in that spatter makes you batshit crazy, then maybe I am too, just a bit. I think it’s marvelous. What a cool thing to share. Here’s my WV post for today: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2016/10/wednesday-vignette_26.html

  7. Pingback: Wednesday vignette 10/26/16 « A Growing Obsession

  8. I like Alison’s word choice…marvelous! I see it too, how could you not? And like Kris I see faces in the shower, well not my current shower but one I had in an apartment in Seattle years ago. I wanted to take a permanent sharpie and identify all the things I saw in that shower surround before I moved out. After staring at it for 7 years I’d identified quite a few! However the desire to get my security deposit back when I moved won out in the end.

    Okay, on to my (much less creative) vignette! http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/10/wednesday-vignette-agave-wifi-zone.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I can totally see the temptation, but I agree it was indeed smarter to refrain, enjoy the deposit, and let the next person find his or her own tiled intricacies. I’m glad we have this gift of association – it makes life so much more interesting!

  9. rickii says:

    Pan’s Labyrinth and The Wizard of Oz came from minds like this. You’re a star!

  10. botanizeme says:

    We have been having quite a few one-pot meals that leave runes and calligraphy like this. Pattern is everywhere and artists such as you don’t discriminate 😉

  11. Love it! That explains why we get along so well!

  12. I love it! I’m one of those people who photograph interesting things where ever I see them.
    Reflections are always good, water droplets on yogurt containers, etc…..You’re an inspiration.
    Thanks.

    • annamadeit says:

      Aw, thank you, Christine! I’m the same way. I’m a little bit like a dog that has to stop and pee at every post when I have my camera – I see compositions everywhere! 🙂

Leave a Reply

