Wednesday Vignette – the calm before another storm

fullsizeoutput_749

After the ravages of last week’s snow and ice, we suddenly had a day of sunny, blue skies. The ice melted, and there was an almost spring-like feeling in the air. Of course not for long – what we experienced was just a warm-up of a chillier variety. We’re reportedly headed toward a true Arctic blast in the week to come. The hollow stalks of this False Hemp (Datisca cannabina) managed to remain standing through last week’s weather – which is quite astonishing, considering that the ice brought large trees to their knees. I imagine it’s one of the hardier things I might not have to worry too much about. I’m bracing for the cold. It will be really interesting to see what all will make it through this winter…

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – the calm before another storm

  1. linda says:

    Nooo ! I was hoping my Echium would survive this year 😦

  2. Peter Herpst says:

    I was hoping that the previous event would be it for this winter but realize that the season has just begun. Sigh. It’s nice to have a blue-sky, sunny break. My WV is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2016/12/wednesday-vignette_28.html

  3. I keep covering my Echium and some of the other plants. Next week looks worrisome. http://phillipoliver.blogspot.com/2016/12/wednesday-vignette_28.html

    • annamadeit says:

      It does, indeed. Fingers crossed for all of our borderline plants. Isn’t it interesting how these brutal winters always seem to come after a non-winter? It makes the contrast so much more dramatic, and the damage seems so much worse.

  4. In my version of reality Christmas and New Year’s Day are then immediately followed by spring. Winter should be over. Sadly I’m crazy. My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2016/12/wednesday-vignette-plants-and-patterns.html

  5. Alison says:

    I was just looking at the forecast for the first week of January last night, and noticed some really cold temps coming. Brrrrr. I might go back and hunt down some summer photos for future WV posts. My current one is here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2016/12/bugging-out-ii.html

  6. Kris P says:

    Yikes, another arctic blast! I’d hoped one ice storm would be it for you this season. My fingers are crossed that all your garden players make it through the next scene in the winter drama.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thank you, Kris! I hope so too, but I’m going to gather up as many as I can and bring them to a safer place, out of the worst of it. Those poor, neglected plants – they should have been planted ages ago…
      😦

  7. rickii says:

    I’d like to see some fashion designer get a hold on the colors in your photo.

  8. Pingback: wednesday vignette |

    • annamadeit says:

      Oh cool – I’ll check it out! 🙂 Tried to comment on it, Rickii, but it gave me a ‘fatal error’, I’ll comment here instead. Anyway, that is a fantastic Christmas card! I can’t even imagine the mechanics behind thinking that up! Very cool! 😀

      • rickii says:

        In future, if you ignore that darn error message, your comment will likely go through. Several other have alerted me but I’ve not found a way to fix it.

        • annamadeit says:

          So weird… at the point when it shows up, I have already “published” the comment, and there is nowhere to go, but back/out. So strange… Do you know if it happens to everyone, or just to WordPress commentators?

  9. Evan Bean says:

    I’m trying to be optimistic about how many plants will survive this winter, with all my very small, newly added plants, but I’m not doing very well. I really don’t want to do a lot of replanting in my parents’ garden. I want to be done with it. Oh well. I did get a nice gift certificate that will help me replace a few things. I think I need to go back and reread my WV post again, for perspective. Here it is: http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2016/12/wednesday-vignette-forest-on-frond.html

    Hopefully it lets you comment this time.

    • annamadeit says:

      Happily, it did let me comment this time! 🙂 I hope all your plants will survive. I’m sure they will have a better chance since they are in the ground. There is a lot to be said for that. Fingers crossed!

  10. FlowerAlley says:

    Hang in there
    I always fret about my gardens during extreme weather.

  11. Tina says:

    And there’s more on the way, yes? You’ve really seen a cold one so far. Perhaps 2017 will be more temperate.

    • annamadeit says:

      Yes – a big one, with temperatures as low as 12 is coming this week. Highly irregular winter behavior, but then again – I do believe our “normals” are changing. Who knows what’s in store…?

Leave a Reply

