Wednesday Vignette – the power or humor

The past week’s big event was no doubt the Women’s March on Washington, and all its sister marches around the nation, and the world. I have to admit, I was angry and bitter (still am) and not in much of a mood for anything. Although the ascent of this disastrous administration can’t be blamed on us in Oregon, all I could think was that if everyone who partook in the many, many marches had showed up to the voting booth with the same enthusiasm and vigor they marched with, we wouldn’t be in this situation in the first place. But, grumpy as I was, I soon found some things to make me laugh. There were some GREAT signs emerging around me, held high over the wet, bobbing heads that slowly made their way along the rain drenched route.

As I appreciatively giggled, I thought of a radio show I once heard about the power of humor as a means to survival, for folks dealing with everyday hardships in dictatorial nations. Laughing in the face of adversity is indeed a potent release valve. To prove the point, jokes from Pinochet’s Chile, Amin’s Uganda, and Franco’s Spain, were recited, as I recall. Though often dark and sinister, the jokes helped people cope. I realized that humor will help us too. These next few years will be a long and arduous backward slide. If we’re lucky, and work hard, we will be somewhat able to halt the systematic dismantling of democratic society as we know it,  by simply showing up in the midterm elections. As I pondered this, I realized that I too will need to find peace in laughter, in order to not drown in all the negativity. The best of the signs I saw are here. Some are more clever than funny, but they all made me laugh, and nod approvingly:

img_1599

This was one of my absolute favorites. It made me cringe, too.

img_1536

This one was so wonderfully down to earth.

fullsizeoutput_919

So innocent and sweet – yet bitingly critical.

fullsizeoutput_917

“Thou shalt not mess with women’s bodies or reproductive rights.” Fallopian 1:20

img_1534

I guess this remains to be seen. My laugh was a bit hopeless at this one.

img_1591

Hahaha!

img_1565

This had me nodding in agreement.

fullsizeoutput_918

This one was clever – especially since we had ben racking our brains earlier in the morning, trying to come up with something catchy involving the word Respect. They nailed it!

img_1596

This is TOTALLY a cuntry for old men. Seriously – did you see those photos…?

fullsizeoutput_91a

Yup!

img_1546

My phone has the annoying habit of unpromptedly taking pictures when I’m not looking. Then I have to delete them all, and that’s when I saw this. There is something kind of cool about this photo – the colors are great and it has lots of flowy movement. Like the election, this shot was a mistake, so it will have to serve as this week’s vignette.

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – the power or humor

  1. You make a good point about voting and protest after the event

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, it was such a nasty, contentious election campaign that I think a lot of people decided to just stay home, thinking a Trump presidency was such a remote possibility they just didn’t bother to vote. The result of this mass decision finally stunned them into action. Too little, too late.

  2. bergstromskan says:

    Tack for att du inte ringde då 😌 >

  3. hb says:

    I think those who marched DID vote. The signs you saw are wonderful! There was so much positive energy in the marches–in LA 750,000 marched and not a single arrest! The marches MUST translate into positive action beyond marching or we are in real trouble.

    The wise humor of Jon Stewart saved my sanity during the Dubya years. It is a lesson I have been remembering every day since the election. We need to keep a firm grip on that humor–it is a matter of mental survival.

    That last photo is outstanding!

    • annamadeit says:

      I’m not so sure, but I would happily be wrong. As they were chanting “This is what democracy looks like”, all I could think was “This is what regret and failed democracy looks like”. I plan to use the app Votespotter to keep track of what my representatives vote for, and give what I can to organizations like Union of Concerned Scientists, Planned Parenthood, ACLU, etc. Other than that – well, I’m open to any good ideas. And yes – I agree wholeheartedly with you. Thank goodness for the likes of Jon Stewart. With a clown in the White House, there should be no shortage of inspiration, I’m sure.

  4. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Laughter helps. Great signs.

  5. Kris P says:

    The signs on the LA march were great too and, as you pointed out, lightened what could have been a deadly somber occasion. My WV also revolves around the Women’s March: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2017/01/wednesday-vignette-beautiful-day.html

  6. Thank you for a glimpse at many signs I had not seen before, all very good ones. Your observation “Like the election, this shot was a mistake”…made me wince. How very different things could have been.

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2017/01/wednesday-vignette-i-wanna-go-back-to.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I know, Loree – I think about that every day, going back to the Gore/GWB debacle in 2000. If only… Well, no losing sleep over misspelled melk, I guess. We just have to roll up our sleeves and fight every urge to become complacent.

  7. Evan Bean says:

    Humor and maintaining our sanity in this administration are going to be just as important as taking action. We can’t keep up the fight if we’ve lost our minds and worn ourselves out. My vignette this week is from a walk in the woods. That’s where I find the most comfort and can re-energize. I really hope there will be a huge backlash that will wipe Republicans out of Congress in 2018, but I’m worried. They came back into control at the worst time and redrew voter districts to keep themselves in power. It’s going to be hard for Democrats to fight their way back in, and there’s not much we can do about states except for the ones we live in. I hope I’m worrying too much and the turnout will be so huge that it counteracts Republican gerrymandering.

    My WV: http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2017/01/january-favorites-and-wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Oh Evan, I absolutely agree. The ability to ground ourselves in Nature is priceless. I often think that if more people were gardeners, our world would be so very different. Maybe that should be our strategy? You know, show the people around us how to see prosperity and life from a gardener’s perspective. It’s an addictive feel-good-feeling we could all use. And, there is enough of it to go around – everyone can share in the kind of love that grows on you. Quite honestly, I think it would turn the tide, and raise some much needed rebels!

  8. Pingback: Wednesday Vignette |

  9. rickii says:

    I was admiring the photo in your banner and trying to figure out what it was. Lesson learned: some mistakes go down better than others. If Trump doesn’t galvanize sane potential voters, nothing will. We’ve been staying up later than usual, just to hear the late night guys lambaste him wth humor. Lots of creativity on display in those signs…power to the people!
    http://bannersbyricki.com/archives/5738

    • annamadeit says:

      You know, Rickii – seeing that creativity at play gave me some hope again. Not sure why. There were so many tired slogans on display that just made me sad. The fresh and funny gusto of the other sign made me feel so much better. 🙂

  10. ks says:

    I am really trying to not feel depair-ish, and the reports of this march-the crowd sizes, the peaceful nature , and as you pointed out , the humor ,gives me an Anne Frank moment : ‘in spite of everything I still believe that people are good at heart’. This is what we saw on Saturday, the good at heart.

    • annamadeit says:

      An Anne Frank moment, huh? Doubly significant, considering the “values” that are being pushed with this narcissistic wimp we now have for a leader. Sweet Anne, lost in a world of exclusionary, targeted hostilities. We need to collect every ounce of humanity’s goodness to turn this ship around.

  11. Tina says:

    We’re in for some tough times and it will take resolve and action to thwart the administration’s agenda, especially in regards to conflicts of interest and manipulation of the press and information. Great photos!

  12. Alyse says:

    I finished a Wednesday Vignette! I missed my deadline of midnight, but I’m certainly happy for the deadline…not sure if I would have gotten it done without it. https://lansinggardendesign.com/blog/2017/1/25/wednesdayvignettesnowpatterns

    Your theme of Women’s March signs and slogans is fun. This one still makes me laugh every time: “I know signs, I make the best signs, they are terrific. Everyone agrees. This is the best sign.Make signs great again.”

    Indeed, humor will save us. Steven Colbert has been really great this month.

    • annamadeit says:

      No worries! Glad you joined in! That’s my favorite sign too. Going forward, I have a feeling I will rely heavily on Colbert and the other late night comedians in order to survive this totally surreal political situation we’re in. Sheesh….

  13. Chris maciel says:

    Great photos. I love that you take everything seriously. Yes, we’ll have to work harder midterm! Last photo tells a good story too. Thanks!

  14. Chris maciel says:

    I’m glad you’re serious…..will you be working in the midterm elections? That’s our next chance to mark changes in congress!

    • annamadeit says:

      I will do whatever I can to help out, starting now. I’m terrible at going door to door, canvassing, but I just might have to get better at it. What about you?

  15. Pingback: A Little Humor – Reproductive Justice for All

Leave a Reply

