Wednesday Vignette – scrim shock

snow scrim

This shot is from my garden a couple of weeks ago, when temperatures slowly started to rise again after our shocking snow event. The snow had begun melting, and a mild breeze released a scrim of snowflakes from the Magnolia, that glittered in the sun’s rays. In its radiant glory, it created an elegant visual obstruction, an attractive layer of refracting obfuscation, blocking and diffusing the view to what was beyond. I didn’t know it then, but this image was to perfectly sum up current events this week.

Sometimes, what is most obvious is not the important thing. It’s put there to veil, distract and conceal. Just like the red herring on a math test, it aims to confuse. This week had us wringing our hands at the barrage of executive orders emanating from the White House – especially the one concerning admittance of certain travelers over our borders. For as outrageous as the so called Muslim Ban is, I now know that its main purpose is to be a strategic tool, an instrument of deception – it is textbook “shock event”. The entire point of a shock event is to divert attention, divide, and distract. I learned this from an absolutely fantastic blog post – it taught me something extremely important, while promoting unity over fractured chaos and confusion. I apologize ahead of time if you have already seen me share this on Facebook. Once I understood the gravity of what was unfolding, I realized I needed to spread this around until I’m blue in the face, so here goes. I’m sharing it again here. It’s well written, it’s educated and informative, and it deserves every share it can get (hint, hint). As the absurdity of the rather poorly executed Muslim Ban plays itself out, MUCH more worrisome dealings are happening in the background on the executive level. And, why this isn’t all over our national news is beyond me. So, dear readers, draw your own conclusions. And if you, like me, believe that this is indeed a high level orchestration of intended confusion, don’t let yourself be played. Instead, please do your best to clue other people in. Our collective eyes need to focus on the machinations of the top levels of the new administration – not on what’s going on in the trenches. This is not the time to take sides. This is the time to unite.

Dammit – this was another political post. I’m sorry – didn’t mean to. I’m really, really trying…

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – scrim shock

  1. Peter Herpst says:

    Beautiful image: scary stuff happening right now.

  2. Evan Bean says:

    Watching the snow come off the trees was my favorite part of that snowy mess. Temperatures warmed and the trees started shedding their snowy loads in earnest. It felt like a cleansing release. Recent political events are anything but. I don’t like reading about politics. Despite feeling like I have so little, I know I’m privileged enough that I could give in to depression and anxiety, ignore everything, and stick my head in the sand until this is all over. Having friends like you keeps me from doing that, so thank you.

    My WV post: http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2017/02/finding-joy-in-winter-garden-at-joy.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I know – I hate what I read too It throws my gut into knots, but I need to keep doing it. We all need to stay on top of what these crooks are trying to do. Alyse posted this over on Optic Verve, which supports what Heather CR wrote. There is a good action summary at the end we should all jump on. Grrr….

      View story at Medium.com

  3. Alison says:

    It is disturbing that no one is talking about the Russian hack of the election any more. We can’t forget about that. I spent the first week of Trump’s presidency down in California, but I kept in touch with events through my phone, checking every day, several times a day on the latest news. Still, it was a relaxing vacation, and my WV today is a photo from my trip: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2017/02/wednesday-vignette-perfect-pick-me-up.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I’m beyond belief on that too, Alison… It’s like straight out of a spy thriller – yet nary a mention. Unbelievable!!! Glad you had a nice, relaxing trip, though. These days, I’ve been stilling my innards by going outside and pulling weeds, and doing random cleanup. I find it oddly therapeutic.

  4. Mark and Gaz says:

    Concerning times at the moment. We shall all just have to wait and see how recent events will pan out in the long run…

    • annamadeit says:

      We over here have to do more than just wait and see if we’re going to stop this train, but we appreciate you cheering us on from the sidelines. I have work to do, and all I can focus on is this. 😦 So scary…

  5. hb says:

    Keep right on expressing yourself. That the person who best explains what the Bannon administration does is Hermann Goering is more than a little worrisome.

    I read something that heartened me–Push back and defiance is really what will make America great again.

    • annamadeit says:

      Agreed – but we have to push back on the right things. The article posted in the comments sums the strategy up perfectly. The Immigration Ban is bad, but quite honestly, peripheral – a red herring. And I KNOW I’m seeing this from my Portland bubble. It’s so easy to get lulled into a false sense of security because of that…. 😦

  6. Kris P says:

    Well, I followed your play with a political focus of my own in this week’s WV, Anna. Although I want my blog to stay garden-focused, I’m finding my viewpoint on just about everything is skewed by what’s coming out of the White House. I refuse to use the man’s name in print as he himself is so fixated on it (what kind of person refers to himself all the time in the third person?!), settling on “#45,” a reference used by Laurence Fishburne. Thanks for your links. Here’s my post: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2017/02/wednesday-vignette-when-is-rock-not-rock.html

    • annamadeit says:

      It is hard to separate the two, but I comfort myself by my conviction that gardens are positive, life-embracing phenomenons. What is going on in this country right now is anything but, and violates just about everything life stands for. Bannon really is Saruman reincarnate.

  7. Please don’t stop! Really. We need constant reminders and many spotlights on the crazy.

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2017/02/wednesday-vignette-ropes.html

  8. Tina says:

    You’re right to post and thanks for the links. I’d read the 2nd, but not the first. Bannon’s elevation is, to say the least, concerning. I fear for this country.

    • annamadeit says:

      You’re welcome, Tina! Hope you have time to read them all and are able to share them widely. The first link – the one from Heather Cox Richardson – is one of the best things I’ve read in a long time. We need to all work together to turn peoples’ attentions to the real issues at hand, because frankly, they can be life altering.

  9. SUZ says:

    thank you……just now arguing with sisters who think one should be able to separate politics from life in general…..NOT NOW I reply……..while gardening is a much needed soothing balm to the national wound that is widening……your insights and links are excellent…..may I also suggest people check out the Sane Progressive on Youtube……….

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks, SUZ, I will. As for your sisters – keep arguing. Gardening is a great refuge, but politics transcends everything – especially when decades of progress is rolled back and the national focus seems hellbent on worshipping Mars! You will no doubt be on the right side of history. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  10. gardenqueen says:

    I’m happy to see you post this and happy to see that so many people feel the same way. The best thing we can do is keep pointing out that the emperor has no clothes.

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, that, and also that what he is doing is illegal, and will not be tolerated. We need to insist that the checks and balances that exist to keep us and our nation safe and peaceful, will not be bypassed!

  11. rickii says:

    Yes, there is a Portland bubble…and a garden bloggers’ bubble. We need to find ways to reach out to those who think differently. Any ideas on that?

    • annamadeit says:

      For the past few days, I have plastered these articles all over websites (mostly FB) that grew out of the Women’s March, urging those who read it to SHARE, SHARE, SHARE. Obviously, it is disturbing enough to me to also put on my blog, but I think whatever got posted on the political sites got read more. And certainly shared more. A bigger bubble, perhaps. As for those who think differently, I think in this case, it is important to point out to them that the effects of what is being done is altering our legal and political system, and impeding our safety and our democratic processes. Surely (unless they have fascist sympathies) we call all agree that THAT is not acceptable. One can always hope, at least… Blind faith is never healthy.

Leave a Reply

