Wednesday Vignette – some classics never die…

As I was looking through the hundreds of photos I saved from my trip home to Sweden last winter, and contemplating the several yet unwritten blog posts, I found a shot of one of my favorite serving plates ever. We had one, I recall, but this particular one was spied in the Rörstrand Museum. For me, it beautifully sums up the 1950’s Scandinavian graphic design aesthetic – it is such a classic!  A few steps away, was a chair upholstered with a textile rendition of the same pattern. It is called ‘Picknick’ and was designed by Marianne Westman in 1954. I wish I knew what happened to our platter – I wonder if it is still in one piece…? Anyway, I can still enjoy this iconic design. You see, my dear aunt Anita gifted me a linen towel printed with it. She made me so happy! 😀fullsizeoutput_98d fullsizeoutput_98f

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – some classics never die…

  1. FlowerAlley says:

    Whimsical and colorful.

  2. That’s a winner! Reminds me of a pair of Vera designed dishtowels I have from Crate & Barrel. And of course also vaguely Marimekko-ish. I dogged the WV this week in favor of Bloomday. I think maybe I’ll do a Thursday Vignette instead!

  3. rickii says:

    Love the radish bowl.

  4. Kris P says:

    You made great use of that towel! I grew up with Marimekko designs, my mother being VERY proud of her Finnish ancestry.

    • annamadeit says:

      Actually, that upholstered chair was in the museum. Mine is still a towel… Your mother had every reason to be proud. More so than all Scandinavians (except perhaps the Danes), the Finns have an astounding design heritage – Marimekko, Aalto, Arabia and beyond… And, because of their relative isolation, it has that special touch. Such great stuff! 🙂

  5. Evan Bean says:

    What a wonderfully nostalgic discovery. And such an interesting design, too. My WV is the sunrise at the end of my bloom day post. I forgot to link here. Trying to do too many things at once. Oops. http://practicalplantgeek.blogspot.com/2017/02/february-flowers-foliage-and-vignette.html

Leave a Reply

