Wednesday Vignette – PHEW!

Not very exciting photos this week, but very happy ones! 😀 For anyone who has seen my Facebook feed lately, it has mostly been filled with local school election crud. Emotions and tensions have run high, a lot of outside money has flowed into some of the races. One of my favorite candidates was outspent 3:1 by Teach for America’s political sidekick organization LEE. And, though endorsed universally by local media, and the passing of the MUCH NEEDED $790 million school construction bond looked quite doubtful.

I expected a nail biter. Instead, to my astonishment, it was over very quickly. Around half an hour after the ballots closed, it was clear that voters had favored the most qualified candidates by large – even unsurmountable – margins. And, not only that. The bond passed!!! I could not be happier! Last night was a HUGE win for the kids of Portland Public Schools. Thank you, Portland – you came through! It feels like this will be a turning point for a very troubled district. Good things will come from this!

Suzanne Cohen, president of Portland Association of Teachers called it! “Rita – you WON!!!”

Hugs and cheers all around!

Did I say we were happy?

A staffer at Old Gold snapped this photo of us late night revelers right before they kindly kicked us out. Thank you, for that!

As if this photo doesn’t show it, last night proved that there is still beauty in the world. Phew!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – PHEW!

  1. CONGRATULATIONS! Great news!

  2. Naturally you were the first person I thought of when I saw the outcome. Congrats on all your work paying off!

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2017/05/wednesday-vignette-growing-plant-within.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha – I can only take credit for being a loyal cheerleader and ardent supporter. Yesterday was a good, good day for Portland kiddos. Can’t stop smiling about it… 🙂

  3. Alison says:

    Congrats on the victory! It’s so nice to see all those happy smiling faces in your post. My WV is here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2017/05/wednesday-vignette_17.html

  4. Peter/Outlaw says:

    I’m happy for you and for the kids of Portland! Stunning foliage shot too.
    My WV: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2017/05/wednesday-vignette_17.html

  5. hb says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!

  6. Evan says:

    Great news! I wonder if what has been happening on the national level has helped keep people aware that their vote matters, and maybe that helped along with the efforts of everyone who worked for this result. We can hope that that awareness lasts at least until 2018.

    • annamadeit says:

      Ha! I should certainly hope so! But there was definitely times where I was sure the really qualified candidates would lose out to the social media wizards who treated it like a vanity project, or the ones backed by sickening amounts of outside money. I think people are definitely less cavalier about the importance of their votes after that horrendous election last year. But in addition, these voters actually gave the issues at hand some serious thought, and I am so grateful for that. I almost feel I should apologize for all the political crap I have posted all over FB these last few months, but naah… For as annoying as that might have been to my friends, maybe it DID make a difference. Anyway, I’m glad it’s over, and that PPS now is better set up for some rapid, positive changes than I’ve ever seen it be before. Phew, indeed!

Leave a Reply

