Wednesday Vignette – after dark

With the help of some fabulous solar spots, I’ve been able to spend a lot of time after dark in my garden, lately. Little by little, the cluttered chaos out there is beginning to conform to at least a few of my wishes. Last night, I reassembled this sculpture I made for my best beloved a long, long time ago. I usually take it down in winter, to prevent it from blowing down. This year, it took me until now to put it back up. The photo only shows half of it, but I liked how it looked, silhouetted against the lit up wall. And, of course, I also like what I don’t have to look at when darkness falls – all those homeless plants sitting around in their pots.

At night, all that stuff fades into oblivion, and all I need to do is sit there, enjoy the cool air, and admire the clutter elimination work done by the spot lights. Come to think of it, the spots work a little like my camera – it focuses on whatever I direct it to, and eliminates the rest. For now, that’s all I need. I’m not quite ready for the wide, open scenes yet. Not yet, anyway. Slowly and steadily getting closer to that point, though, and that makes me happy!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – after dark

  1. Mark and Gaz says:

    Quite a haunting photo Anna!

    • annamadeit says:

      Isn’t it interesting that even a rather playful sculpture can take on an eerie quality when daylight disappears? I can totally see why some are afraid of the dark…

  2. bergstromskan says:

    Makes me happy to see and hear

  3. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Cool image. There’s something magical about a garden at night illuminated by artificial light. It’s nice to be able to sit, relax, and put thoughts of homeless plants out of your mind temporarily. My WV is here: http://outlawgarden.blogspot.com/2017/06/wednesday-vignette-do-you-feel-like.html

  4. Kris P says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to be able to enjoy the garden well into the evening at this time of year? Your photo captures the mystery and allure of the evening hours well. Having just returned from the Garden Bloggers’ Fling with my zillions of photos still in disarray, I’m sharing a few random shots in my WV: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2017/06/wednesday-vignette-postcards-for-2017.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Oh – you went to the Fling?? You lucky dog – I wish I could have gone… I have already seen some beautiful posts from various bloggers. Can’t wait to see yours! I bet it was marvelous…

  5. Magical photo which again raises the question…when am I going to get to see your garden?

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2017/06/wednesday-vignette-circles.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Silly – I’ve told you you are welcome any time to see my cramscaped madness… I’ll be at the ready with some alcohol to temper the shock!

  6. Alison says:

    Wonderful silhouette! I’d love to get some nice after dark lighting going in my garden. I’m picturing something in the form of fairy lights. I chose a photo from the many I took at the Fling this past weekend for my WV. It’s here: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2017/06/wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      I got some great solar fairy lights at Fred Meyers last year. Didn’t get them up until this year, but they work great. Not the most admirable feeling in the world, but I admit to being a bit envious of everyone who went to the Fling. I bet you had a blast!

  7. Pingback: Wednesday Vignette – A Moveable Garden

  8. mmwm says:

    Garden art, art in the garden, beauty everywhere, day and night.
    Mine is here: https://amoveablegarden.wordpress.com/2017/06/28/wednesday-vignette-15/

  9. hb says:

    Beautiful scene. I’d want to spend evenings outside looking at it, too.

Leave a Reply

