Wednesday Vignette – let light lead

After a week of inane and frightening Twitter wars, pointless arguments involving national anthems and civic protests at the expense of those still reeling from an environmental disaster, followed by unfathomable death and destruction at the hands of a lone killer with enough guns to make a case for instant and stringent gun control legislation. please forgive me if all I want to do is rest my eyes on something calming and beautiful. This partially sun-lit Verbascum and grass combo, against the weathered gray wall of the old Prohibition era barn at Joy Creek held my eye for a while, offered strength, and allowed me to push the darkness around me out. As I recharge, in my head, this great song by Tom Petty plays on, inspiring after the news that he too is gone – a bitter gravy topping an already horrendous week of news.

Well, I won’t back down
No, I won’t back down
You can stand me up at the gates of hell
But I won’t back down
No, I’ll stand my ground
Won’t be turned around
And I’ll keep this world from draggin’ me down
Gonna stand my ground
And I won’t back down
(I won’t back down)
Hey, baby, there ain’t no easy way out
(I won’t back down)
Hey, I will stand my ground
And I won’t back down
Well I know what’s right
I got just one life
In a world that keeps on pushin’ me around
But I’ll stand my ground
And I won’t back down
(I won’t back down)
Hey, baby, there ain’t no easy way out
(I won’t back down)
Hey, I will stand my ground
And I won’t back down
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
(I won’t back down)
Hey, I won’t back down
(I won’t back down)
Hey, baby, there ain’t no easy way out
(I won’t back down)
Hey, I will stand my ground
And I won’t back down
No, I won’t back down

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – let light lead

    • annamadeit says:

      I thought so too, Derrick. Verbascum chaixii ‘alba’, Muhlenbergia dubia, and Schizachyrium scoparium ‘Flash’. I just wish I had enough sun to make them thrive together. Together, they lifted my spirits against that grey wall.

  1. Peter Herpst says:

    Thanks for the moment of light and peace. Keep standing your ground!

  2. Of all the Tom Petty songs that have been on repeat in my head the last couple of days I’ve somehow missed that one. Thank you for the reminder. My WV isn’t nearly so poetic…
    http://www.thedangergarden.com/2017/10/wednesday-vignette-cactus-curtain.html

  3. Ruby Moon says:

    Beautifully sad…..thanks for putting those words together in my head! Little more wants to be said now.

  4. Kris P says:

    I’ve been feeling more than a little overwhelmed by the relentless pace of misery, pointless (and even dangerous) political rhetoric, and outright evil of the past few weeks. As a strong proponent of gun control, the classic response coming out of the White House about it not being the right time to discuss this, makes me want to cry – or throw something. I hope the golf cart to hell Lin-Manuel Miranda envisioned for 45 has lots of room for other passengers.

    The Tom Petty song is a good reminder that throwing in the towel isn’t the answer…

    • annamadeit says:

      I’m with you, Kris! Sometimes, when things have gone too far, there is no right time, nor will there ever be. They just need to dive in and do it, but of course we all know that they have neither the guts, nor the political will to do it. It’s utterly disgraceful! And, as far as what comes out of the White House – good grief, he is such an international embarrassment! Time and time and time again. I need to go outside and stare at some bumble bees or something to restore normal blood pressure, and calm my nerves. Just read this too – it did not exactly make me feel more hopeful – even though I HOPE the Supreme Court will surprise me. http://www.npr.org/2017/10/03/552904504/this-supreme-court-case-could-radically-reshape-politics

  5. hb says:

    Yes it was a grim week. The song lyrics you included are a courageous response. Onward, though the fog, to a sunny place.

  6. Alison says:

    God, the news is so relentlessly sickening. Here’s my Wednesday Vignette: http://bonneylassie.blogspot.com/2017/10/wednesday-vignette.html

  7. Appropriate vignette and lyrics for a crazy week. Thanks for hosting. Here’s my vignette: https://plantpostings.blogspot.com/2017/10/candids-of-katy-in-tropical-terrain.html

Leave a Reply

