Wednesday Vignette – bubble

IMG_6526

A bubble contains so much. For one thing, we all live in one. Everything we do and see is processed through the filters that make up the wall of our own bubble. But it is fragile. It can break – sometime from our own actions, sometime for reasons beyond our control.  When it does, we are thrown into unfamiliar territory, where we deal… cope… learn… all the while trying frantically recreate a new bubble. Our bubbles make us comfortable.

Sometimes it’s good for us to break down the walls of our bubble. The process can be stressful and full of pain as well as discovery. The reward will come in our next bubble which will no doubt be bigger than the one we dismantled.

On a different scale, I imagine our planet as a bubble. We really aren’t all that familiar with what lies outside of it. This is what we have. This is what we know. And, this is one of those rare times when I would argue that breaking it down and stressing it to its limits is not a good idea. Maybe I’m wrong – but I doubt it.

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – bubble

  1. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Dramatic contrasts of turbulent, dark, foreboding sky contrasting with fleeting bubble tranquility. It’s both fascinating and frightening to be living in a time when our planet, which once seemed vast, has become quite finite. “This fragile earth, our island home.” -Howard E. Galley, Jr. (BCP 1974)

    • annamadeit says:

      “…island home” – that is a great way to describe it. Gray skies, indeed – it was a very overcast day. Can you believe this is an un-doctored color photo?

  2. Kris P says:

    That’s a beautiful image, Anna. I too see the earth as fragile, perhaps more so than its ever been, which makes in all the more terrifying to find it under the influence of careless, short-sighted brutes. My image of yesterday’s sunrise is more benign but perhaps more evocative of our ongoing fire than I’d intended: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2017/10/sunrise-wednesday-vignette.html

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Kris. It seems more fragile to me now, than it has in a long time. So many fissures, fractures, and divides between the humans that inhabit it. And its leaders… ugh… you put it perfectly; “careless, short-sighted brutes.”

  3. FlowerAlley says:

    Beautifully done, as usual. No, you are not wrong on this. Keep up the good work.

  4. Is that the Joy Creek barn I see reflected in the bubble? Beautiful photo Anna.

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2017/10/wednesday-vignette-two-pieces-of-wood.html

Leave a Reply

