Wednesday Vignette – the way of the world

Today, I did a much needed cleaning of my garden shed. Among other distractions, there was a fabulous spider web, which I tried hard not to disturb. It had already been disrupted by a now dead, wayward bee. Fascinated, I watched the dance of the living and the dead, that took place.

It really does reflect existence, doesn’t it? Some of us win, some of us lose. Someone’s gain is another one’s loss. I see it everywhere, and it’s starting to get to me. It would be nice if there was a happy medium, but instead it seems the polarization of extremes is bulking up and solidifying. “One” or the “other”…. whatever happened to “nuance” and “multifaceted”?

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – the way of the world

  1. Great photo story. The dance of the living and the dead is particularly apt

  2. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Sometimes we’d like to think that our intellectual prowess elevates humans a bit. After all, we’re capable of great beauty, compassion, altruism, love. On the other hand we’re also capable of great destruction, killing, polarization, and hatred. Great images of this age-old dance of living and dead; particularly fitting for All Hallow’s Eve, All Saints, Dia de los Muertos.

  3. I agree with Peter – it’s appropriate Halloween spectacle. But, while it’s too much to hope for vegetarian spiders, I don’t think it’s unreasonable to expect civility and reasoned compromise in government. The lack of that is getting to me too. My WV also has a Halloween aspect: https://krispgarden.blogspot.com/2017/10/help-or-hindrance-wednesday-vignette.html

  4. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    It’s even getting to me, and I wonder how it will end. If you do move back to Sweden, make sure you have a nice big guest room. I expect you’ll have a long stream of visitors looking for escape.

    p.s. It’s a fly, not a bee. Does that make you feel any better? 🙂

    • annamadeit says:

      Haha – I will definitely keep that in mind if we move back. I didn’t know it was a fly – thank you for the correction. Obviously – and I’m embarrassed to say – I don’t know how to tell the difference.

  5. I hope you were also able to get the shed cleaned out, with all the distraction!

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2017/10/wednesday-vignette-park.html

  6. hb says:

    I am urging my sister to encourage my nephew to emigrate. Some of his friend’s older siblings in college or just out of it are going–Germany, New Zealand, France, Australia–and not looking back.

    • annamadeit says:

      I totally hear you… Sweden is not perfect, but still – it’s looking awfully good right now. I’d miss the pretty scenery and the friends I’ve made here, but it would totally be worth it. Enough so that it is always at the back of my head, lurking…

  7. *Raises hand* I’m totally jealous of my friend who made it to Canada, some (okay most) days. And, this may be weird of me, but I’ve always thought that death by spider would be a most honorable way to go, for a flying insect. My WV is up here: https://plant-collage.com/2017/10/wednesday-vignette-thank-you-lavender-who-came-with-the-house/

  8. Pingback: Wednesday Vignette – A Moveable Garden

  9. mmwm says:

    Great captures of this interaction, but ohhhhhh …..
    Mine is here: https://amoveablegarden.wordpress.com/2017/10/25/wednesday-vignette-21/

  10. FlowerAlley says:

    This too shall pass. Cheer up. I am glad you were getting your shed organized. I am trying to design a cold frame from junk. Now that is sad. Ha.

  11. annamadeit says:

    I bet you could build a fabulous cold frame from all the junk I had in my shed. Finished cleaning it today, and set up to build another fern table. So excited!

  12. Oh my friend..you’ve spoken true words. The polarization feels very intense and yet…when we reflect in the garden we see life in it’s simplest form. Life and Death, one wins and one loses…

    • annamadeit says:

      Yep – I have to admit I like the usual straightforward cause and effect-predictability of the garden and its inhabitants. It may be brutal, but it’s nice to not have to guess, or scheme, or connive. Happy Halloween, Jenni!

Leave a Reply

