Wednesday Vignette – changing directions

If you read my last post, you know why I was here – in broad daylight. Not that I minded – there are beautiful vistas wherever you look, at Lan Su. And this week, I have felt an urgent need to focus my eyes on beauty and my hands on creating it. When there is turmoil in the world, my garden is better for it.

I’ll let the winding path of Lan Su instill hope of a better week ahead, for the world. The Japanese avoid straight paths and use directional changes so as to evade evil spirits. I don’t know for sure, but I wouldn’t be surprised if that notion originated in China, which might explain why we’re seeing the same thing here, in the Chinese Garden. So many other things we know as “Japanese”, did. Of course no one knows where a change of turn might lead, but the direction we’re going clearly isn’t working.

On that note, I wholeheartedly agree with Betty White: “My thoughts and prayers are with the Senators that voted down gun control. My thoughts: do your job. My prayer: you’re voted out of office.” Funny thing is, judging from early election results from around the country, we really are making some turns from our current trajectory. Maybe not enough turns to fully stand up to the NRA, but at least enough to pause and reflect. I hope.

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – changing directions

  1. FlowerAlley says:

    I was at Lan Su several years ago. It was such a special place. You are lucky to live close to such a jewel.

  2. Tina says:

    I really like that photo–ancient architecture juxtaposed with modern, water, lilies, trees framing. Gardens, no matter where or what, heal–so do good election results. 🙂

    • annamadeit says:

      Indeed they do. And yes, standing in that little jewel of a place, looking up at the surrounding buildings is always a very special feeling – in a good way. Even though you know those around you can view it almost as a map, or a board game (my husband works on the top floor in one of the neighboring buildings, which gives a rather fabulous perspective) you never feel watched while enjoying the garden.

  3. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Beautiful image of a special place.

  4. Lovely, Anna. I’m with you.

  5. Alison says:

    I love that Betty White quote. She’s a treasure. This morning’s election news is heartening, if we can just keep it up till 2018, and on through 2020, and stay united.

  6. Elvis says:

    Gorgeous image, Anna. The red lanterns just make it perfect! My Vignette is at a very different scale: http://mulchmaid.blogspot.com/2017/11/wednesday-vignette-miniature-gardens.html

Leave a Reply

